2017: The Adventure begins (again)

img_3338I recently wrote a post about my theme for 2017: Adventure. It can—and no doubt will—take many forms.

First off (for the purpose of this blog, anyway) is weight loss.

Yesterday, on Jan. 1, I hopped on the big, bad scale and re-started the Atkins diet.

And I’m not talking the “New Atkins for a New You.” I’m going old school with the “Atkins New Diet Revolution” … the plan that helped me lose 110 pounds more than a decade ago.

That means 20 grams of net carbs (or fewer) a day, with the requisite amount of salad veggies and other veggies from the list. (I have to look up whether it’s 2 cups of salad veggies PLUS 1 cup of other veggies or 1 cup salad veggies and 1 cup other veggies.)

I’m also going back to tracking my eats. I just can’t decide whether to do it by phone app or go old school with pen and paper. When I had all the success on Atkins in 2003-05, I tracked on paper. And I haven’t done very well on subsequent attempts when tracking via app, so …

It’s Day Two and already, I find myself falling back into the comfort of low-carb eating. I’ve been at Starbucks since noon and only started getting hungry at 4 p.m., when I downed an Atkins bar I had stashed in my purse. I’m also less achy and looking forward to waking up in the middle of the night and getting up to pee without lurching around because my back hurts. (I’m not looking forward to waking up with killer leg cramps, but hopefully I can avoid that.)

Author Gretchen Rubin frequently talks about two types of people: abstainers and moderators. I firmly believe I’m more of an abstainer. When I know the carb-filled junk isn’t an option, I’m perfectly happy eating from a list of low-carb foods. If, on the other hand, someone tells me it’s okay to have a little (insert carb-filled junk food here) in moderation, I can’t do it. The moderation food becomes an obsession and it’s all I want.

How was your New Year’s Eve?

I met some friends in downtown Prescott for dinner and then we walked down the street for the Whiskey Row Boot Drop. It was sprinkling a wee bit, but the weather was surprisingly warm for January in northern Arizona. Two scarves was probably overkill.

2016-12-31-22-58-38

We had dinner at the Prescott Brewing Company. I ordered the Burmeister Burger, topped with spinach-artichoke dip, along with a side of pub fries. Both were delicious … and I can probably still order the burger (sans bun) on a low-carb plan. I’ll just have to get a side salad instead of the fries.

2016-12-31-22-12-14

A troupe of fire dancers performed before the Boot Drop. As I watched them, I tweeted out that I was having a dangerous thought: “I can do that.”

2016-12-31-23-01-51

Twirling a flaming stick did look deceptively simple. I used to be in the color guard in high school – I know how to twirl a flag.  While fire dancing would undoubtedly be an adventure, I’m not sure it’s one I’m ready for. Maybe next year.

Finally, it was time for the countdown and the boot made its way down the flagpole.

2016-12-31-23-58-29Sorry there’s no video. I can’t share it unless I upgrade WordPress. If you’re really curious, I posted it to Facebook.

2 responses to “2017: The Adventure begins (again)

  1. For leg cramps, have you tried magnesium oil on your skin? Some people take supplements, but you can also rub the oil form (magnesium dissolved in oil) on your skin and your body will absorb it. It does make some people itchy.

Leave a Reply

