Who needs an hour off for dinner?

I certainly don’t – not when I have no plans to leave the building. It takes 30 minutes or less to eat, and I’d rather go back to work and then leave 30 minutes sooner at the end of the night.

Unfortunately, that’s not an option. So perhaps I’ll put my forced hourlong dinner breaks to good use by blogging my way through them.

I’m still ramping up for a Jan. 1 start to giving up carbs (again). I know I’ll feel better once I do, even if the thought of saying a permanent goodbye  to potatoes, bread, pasta and sugar currently makes me sad.

Of course, I’m planning to carb it up tomorrow. I might go out for a biscuits and gravy breakfast and coconut cream pie lunch. And I’ll probably sneak in one last full-sugar Frappuccino for old’ time’s sake.

Saturday night begins the year of adventure: I’ll meet friends downtown for the annual Boot Drop. They drop a giant lighted cowboy boot to ring in the new year.

The Boot Drop isn’t quite as old a tradition as Flagstaff’s Pine Cone Drop. And I’m not sure if it’s quite as impressive overall. It does, however, have one thing going for it: Prescott will be warmer than Flagstaff. It gets downright nippy at the ol’ Pine Cone Drop, which was named in Slate.com’s list of Wacky New Year’s Eve Traditions.

The Boot Drop has been recognized, too. In 2013, the Los Angeles Times listed the Whiskey Row Boot Drop as one of the “oddball counterparts” to the New York Times Square ball drop.

Last year’s Boot Drop was chilly but tolerable. I’m hoping for a repeat of that weather pattern tomorrow night.

boot-drop

Then on Sunday morning, I’ll get up in time to go to the 10 a.m. service at my church. Wait? Did I just say “my church”?

That’s right. After countless years of searching, I’ve found a church family! But that’s a story for another time, friends.

Leave a Reply

