Reaching a new high

… And not the good kind.

I finally faced the scale Monday. According to the mean metal box, I’ve topped my highest known adult weight.

Yeah. Not exactly the heights I’ve been hoping to reach.

It’s my own fault, of course. Too many poor food choices paired with too little exercise.

I knew I was gaining—have been for months. I just didn’t know how much.

Halloween 2014I should have realized. I hate all my pictures these days. This one from Halloween is okay, but I had to take several shots before I had one I was happy with. Thank goodness for digital cameras, eh?

…Anyway…

On Monday I started logging my food again, using the LoseIt! app on my phone. It’s a pain in the a$$, but clearly it’s something I need to do to remind myself not to eat too much.

I have to make time to take care of myself. That includes making my own meals instead of relying on drive-thrus and other takeout. Regular walks should be on the schedule, too.

Not blogging hasn’t been working for me, either. That means I need to make time for regular check-ins here, too.

Deciding on an eating plan would also be helpful. I really think my body works best on a lower-carb plan—but the thought of giving up pasta, potatoes and bread (not to mention overnight oats) doesn’t appeal.

One easy way to cut carbs would be to give up Frappuccinos, I know. But Starbucks is my office away from home, and I’m spending more time than ever there now that I’m (still) (f)unemployed. I earn free drinks regularly, and it seems like a waste to use a freebie for anything less than a fully loaded drink.

The struggle is real. Every day.

I look at my TimeHop posts from two or three years ago and making the right choices seemed so effortless. I need to get back to that place. Fast.

2 responses to “Reaching a new high

    • As much as I’d like to wave a magic wand & lose it all, it took two years to regain it–probably take just as long to take it off again.

Leave a Reply

