A #WIAW with perfect timing

Day Three of tracking with My Fitness Pal is in the books, and it went pretty well. I was 300 calories under my allowance for the day.

Ended up eating the Chobani I packed for dessert when I got home from work because I didn’t get around to it earlier. It made a perfect late-night nosh—just as satisfying as something junkier.

I read a post from Liz over at Prior Fat Girl Tuesday that couldn’t have come at a better time. The standout line:

If you wait for the right time to start getting healthy you may never begin.

Y’all, she’s so right. I’ve wasted the bulk of the last year saying “I’ll start back on my diet tomorrow” or “I’ll start next week.” Somehow, tomorrow never arrived. There was always a donut (or two) or a big, greasy burger or a fluffy, delicious coffee drink to be consumed.

Now it’s a year later, and I’m pushing 300 pounds again. Ugh.

I have no one to blame but myself—well, maybe the Boyfriend can shoulder some of the blame. (I’ve never met someone who pushes food more than he does. He said something like “you just need portion control” on the phone before vacation, and then proceeded to coax me to eat huge portions all week. Gah.)

However, I have to say that I’m feeling pretty good after a couple days of loading up on veggies. I can get by eating a lot less crap than I’ve gotten used to devouring.

I don’t need a calorie-laden Frappuccino when a Skinny Caramel Macchiato delivers my Starbucks fix.

Writing fuel.

Writing fuel.

I don’t have to pig out on fast food when I can make a delicious, quick stir fry. (I’ll share the recipe at Chicklets in the Kitchen later this week.)

Green Bean Stir-Fry

Salads don’t have to be punishment.

I fixed a pretty tasty one for lunch (but forgot to take a photo of it). In the mix: 3 cups spring mix, 1 cup chopped tomato, a little sliced red onion, 1/2 can tuna, 2 Tablespoons feta and roasted red pepper dressing (from a bottle). It was delicious!

I have a weirdo cat. Doesn’t she look like she should be smoking a cigarette?

Spirit was lying like this when I woke up. Had to snap a picture.

Spirit was lying like this when I woke up. Had to snap a picture because I thought it was funny.

Fixing my lunch bag doesn’t require needle and thread.

Lunch Bag Fix

Yes, I stapled the seam back together. It worked! No more hole.

Lazy? Perhaps. But I prefer to call it innovative.

Since it’s Wednesday, I’ll link this up with Jenn’s What I Ate Wednesday party. I keep pinning her recipes, because they always look delicious. Hopefully someday soon, I’ll be able to whip up one or two.

Leave a Reply

