I’m still standing

… Barely. Healthy living is such a struggle for me these days.

I have no motivation. None. Zero. Zip. Nada.

I mean, I know the things I need to be doing — I just have very little desire to do them. Exercise? Not happening. It’s a fight to log 5,000 steps a day on my FitBit. Choosing a salad over the burger and fries? In my dreams.

I’m just so tired. Tired of fighting my natural inclination to eat junk and sit around. Tired of feeling like I’m not good enough, not doing enough. Tired of not having enough cash to buy the produce to make awesome salads.

The tide may have changed over the weekend, though. I downloaded My Fitness Pal to my phone Saturday night and have tracked every bite since. My username is arleneawl if you want to add me as a friend.

Sunday, I was a couple hundred calories over my goal; Monday, I was a couple hundred under. (About twice as many under as over, so that’s a good thing, right?)

We’ll see if I stick to it. Seems I have trouble with that. I’ll do pretty well on my chosen eating plan for a couple of weeks and then fall right back off the wagon. Once I’m down, I’m down for the count. That old “screw it” attitude rears its ugly head and I start eating everything in sight.

I know, I know — that bears little resemblance to the #wycwyc attitude I planned to cultivate not so long ago.

Veggie-ful dinnerMonday was my first day back to work after a week of vacation. It was nice to be back in my own kitchen. I made sausage, peppers and onions for dinner. Served it with a side of brussels sprouts for a veggie-ful dinner.

I was an Instagramming fool today — making up for last week, when I didn’t do much that was photo-worthy. I spent several hours a day at Starbucks, writing, and the rest of the time hanging out with the Boyfriend.

It was low-key, and I ate way too much junk (until Sunday). But it was just what I needed. My next vacation will be to attend the RWA National Conference at the end of July, so it’ll be go-go-go all week long. I can’t wait!

Delicious!

Delicious!

When I stopped at the gas station on my way back home from the Boyfriend’s Monday afternoon, I spotted some new-to-me Blue Diamond Almonds: Coffee Almonds in Caramel Macchiato flavor.

OMG. They’re so good. They just might replace the wasabi-soy ones as my favorite flavor.

OK, maybe not. The toasted coconut are another of my faves. I wonder what would happen if you mix the coconut & caramel macchiato almonds. Would they taste somewhat like a Samoa Girl Scout Cookie?

Yikes. I probably don’t want to know. 😉

 

 

2 responses to “I’m still standing

    • They were good. I wish it weren’t a daily struggle. I want it to be automatic. You’re doing great with all that exercise. I need to find something I enjoy.

Leave a Reply

