Chugging along

Low-carb life is, as usual, more effortless for me than other eating plans.

I’ve been far from perfect, as I did treat myself to a small popcorn when I went to see the new Kevin Costner movie, “Three Days to Kill” on Sunday. (I did not, however, eat popcorn when I went to see “About Last Night,” “Winter’s Tale” or “Endless Love,” so that’s an improvement. For a while there, I was getting popcorn every time.)

I also bought a box of Girl Scout cookies Sunday. I couldn’t resist when the girl approached my table at Starbucks. We chatted for a while. She’s aiming to sell 360 boxes and was at 320. She was out of Thin Mints, but I got the Samoas. I did break them open in a group setting, but I still have some. Thinking about eating a couple more tonight.

I am feeling a lot more in control, though. A sidestep from the low-carb path does not lead to an all-day binge. I don’t know why it’s easier for me to get “back on track” when I’m low-carbing it, but it is.

Shamrock ShakeIn fact, I had a bit of a breakthrough. I’ve been thinking about a McDonald’s Shamrock Shake ever since last week, when I walked into McD’s and saw a human-sized poster of one on the wall.

The one in this photo was taken in February 2013. I recall using a chunk of Weight Watchers Flex points on it — and thinking it was really, really sweet.

Tonight, instead of caving in to the urge, I drove to Safeway and picked up some low-carb vanilla ice cream.

Shamrock Shake fixin's

And then I made my own, lower-carb Shamrock Shake. I used 1/2 cup of ice cream, 1/2 cup of unsweetened almond milk, a little green food coloring and peppermint extract. (Decided the peppermint patty syrup was overkill.)

Not bad. Next time, less food coloring, a little more mint flavor.

Not bad. Next time, less food coloring, a little more mint flavor.

Not bad at all. It was a bit runny, though. Next time, I might try 1/4 cup of milk with 1/2 cup ice cream … or boost it to 3/4 cup ice cream with 1/2 cup milk. It was kind of a pathetic portion, especially when compared to the McDonald’s version above.

Ah well. Even with the whipped cream, my shake as it was made had only 4.8 net carbs. It’d be 3.5 NC without whip. Compare that to the  stats I lifted from the McDonald’s website for a 12-oz. Shamrock Shake:

(Daily Value)
Calories 530
Total Fat 15g 24%
Carbohydrates 86g 29%
Protein 11g
Sodium 160mg 7%

86 grams of carbs? Yikes! Clearly I made the right decision.

Low-carb eating is working, too: The scale is finally headed in the right direction again. When I last checked the scale (last Thursday, I think), I was down 5.4 pounds. I’ll probably check in again this morning. (I avoided the scale Monday after eating that popcorn and not drinking enough water Sunday …)

Crazy that I’m no longer hungry all the time. but I’m not complaining.

I will, however, kvetch about leg cramps. I HATE the sharp pains that wake me out of a sound sleep. In fact, I tweeted about the problem last week, and got a response from the folks at Atkins.

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 11.02.02 PM I haven’t picked up any magnesium yet, but you can bet it’s on my to-buy list. I’ll get some when payday rolls around on Friday.

One more thing: Can I just say I screamed like a fangirl when I saw this response to my tweet:

22 Jump Street likes me!

That’s right: @22jumpstreet favorited little ol’ me! It feels good to be noticed! 😀

Leave a Reply

