#WIAW: Back in the Kitchen Edition

It’s been a while since I’ve jumped in to share on one of Jenn’s What I Ate Wednesday posts, so I think it’s high time.

My eagerness to participate might have a little to do with the fact that I actually spent some time in my kitchen. (My hard work is slated to appear in Lindsay’s Sunday Food Prep Inspiration post later this month.)

Did I hear a collective gasp from blog-land? Not surprising, given my recent habits. But I’m trying hard to stick to the menu plan I made last Friday. That meant quality time with my pots, knives and heating elements.

Can I just say, it’s kind of nice to have the guesswork taken out of “what’s for breakfast/lunch/dinner.” (That’s one reason I love Diet-to-Go so much. Well, that and the taste. I don’t think I’ve ever gotten a meal I hated. Don’t forget they’re hosting the 1,000 Meal Giveaway this month. You could win up to a month’s worth of free food.)

Back to some of the week’s eats. I’ve been pretty terrible at remembering to shoot my plate, so I don’t have everything. However, this is a good sampling of what I’ve been eating.

Breakfasts:

Overnight Oats with Cookie Butter

Overnight Oats with fruit, nuts and TJ’s cookie butter. When I went to Starbucks the other day, someone left an unopened packet of fruit/nut/seed topping on my favorite table. I decided to take it home and make good use of it in my overnight oats, made with sugar-free vanilla almond milk and, just because I could, a tablespoon of cookie butter. The jar’s getting empty. I’ll have to remember to buy more next time I go. (Unless I decide to go back to Atkins. If I do, I don’t need the temptation …)

Breakfast Sandwich

Egg Sandwich with grape tomatoes. Sandwich Thin, fried egg and a wedge of white cheddar Laughing Cow. Quick and tasty.

Lunches/Dinners

Egg Salad wrap

Egg Salad in a low-carb wrap. The egg salad is made with two hard-boiled eggs, 2 Tablespoons mayo, a squirt of spicy brown mustard, chopped green onion and yellow bell pepper, and shredded cheddar cheese. I added a handful of mixed greens for an added boost of nutrition.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork & Cabbage

Pulled Pork sandwich. The recipe was in the new issue of Weight Watchers Magazine (page 88). Pork tenderloin, cabbage and onion slow-cooked in a homemade BBQ sauce. It was pretty tasty, but I think I need a bigger bun. The Sandwich Thin I used wasn’t substantial enough to stand up to the meat/sauce. (The recipe suggests whole wheat rolls … like kaiser rolls or something?)

I think I still prefer Hungry Girl’s slow-cookin’ pulled chicken. I bet I could make that same sauce with pork tenderloin.

Black Bean Soup | Peas and Crayons

Jenn’s Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup. I topped mine with some crumbly Mexican queso and half an avocado. Yum! Sad that it was my last not-frozen bowl.
Ham, Pear and Cranberry Goat Cheese SaladHam, Pear and Cranberry Goat Cheese Salad. This combo was inspired by some cheese I found at Safeway. 2 cups of greens topped with 2 oz. ham, 1 serving of cheese and a sliced pear. I used 1 teaspoon each of balsamic vinegar and EVOO as dressing. The flavors were fantastic, even if I let my pear get a wee bit too brown …

It feels good to be back in the healthy eating game.

Leave a Reply

