No easy way

In the past couple of days, I’ve been reminded that weight loss isn’t easy.

Promises, promises ...

Promises, promises …

This magazine cover I saw while standing in line at the grocery store reminded me.

So did David’s recent blog post about getting started and some compliments he’s received. In short, his passport shows him as he looked before losing 160 pounds. When he recently left the country, the folks checking his passport noticed.

He recounts a conversation with one ICE officer, whom he describes as an older, heavyset man:

Officer: “Look at that, you’ve lost a lot of weight, haven’t you!”

Me: “About 160 pounds.”

Officer: “That’s incredible! Well done! How did you do it?”

Me: “Diet and exercise.”

Officer (looking crestfallen): “I was hoping there was an easier way.”

Aren’t we all? Magazine covers like that one, trumpeting diets that will help you “get thin fast” simply feed our desire for the quick fix … the miracle diet … the magic bullet.

In reality, it doesn’t exist. The only way to lose weight is diet and exercise.

I posted that magazine cover shot to Instagram Saturday with the following comment:

“The problem with this? You didn’t gain the weight fast. How can you expect to lose it that way?”

Stopping at scenic overlook near Lake Mead, on the way home from Vegas in 2005.

Stopping at scenic overlook near Lake Mead, on the way home from Vegas in 2005.

Almost immediately, folks started chiming in with their agreement.

Now, I’m as guilty as the next gal in wanting to close my eyes and wake up skinny. I’ve been (unsuccessfully) chasing skinny since high school. The closest I came was losing 110 pounds in two years on Atkins, starting in October 2003. I stalled out at 169 pounds, nine pounds from my goal.

Looking at that photo makes me sad. I miss that version of me.

Haven’t come close since. Got down to 182 my first time doing Weight Watchers. Weighed in at 212 after my first Whole30 (though I don’t remember where I was at the start).

But I also know that I am where I am right now because I haven’t been putting in the work. I’ve been eating too much junk and not exercising.

I DON’T WANT to give up carbs, I whine. I DON’T WANT to walk in the cold.

Well, if I ever WANT to look like that again, I’m going to have to cut back on carbs and start walking in the cold. I’ve been eating WAY too many carbs — averaged more than 200 grams of carbs/day. Yikes.

There is no easy way to lose weight, only hard work and consistency. Don’t strive for perfection. Just do #wycwyc, and eventually … gradually … the weight will come off. The same way it went on … slowly.

I did make it to the OA meeting Saturday (but not the church service Sunday). Apparently, there’s only so much bravery I can muster in a week.

I’m not sure it’s the right place for me. I wanted to dismiss it right away, but when I listened to the other attendees stories, I felt like maybe I was in the right place.

Still, it seems to be going the opposite way of my intended destination. I want to be free of obsession with food, yes — but I want to be able to eat and enjoy everything, not put certain things off-limits.

OMG, listen to me. Not five minutes ago, I said I needed to cut back on carbs. Now I want to eat everything in moderation.

Clearly, I don’t know what I want—or need. I’m keeping an open mind, and may go back to a few more meetings.

2 responses to “No easy way

  1. Great post. You’re right when you say that the weight will come off the same way it came on… slowly. But it will come off. And it sounds like you’re well on your way to finding the tools you will need to make that happen.
    Oh – and thanks for the shout out!

Leave a Reply

