So much to be thankful for

ThankfulElf for Health’s organizers asked us to count our blessings Sunday. I started my list last night, but didn’t quite get it finished, as I was busy having fun with the Boyfriend.

Since it’s better to do it late than not at all, here’s my list of 20 things I’m thankful for. In no particular order:

1. My dog, Cocoa, is happy and healthy again. She wasn’t feeling too well a month or so ago. Allergies had her licking herself until she was red.

2. I’m finally a published author. (This would probably be No. 1 if I were ranking my list. It’s something I’ve wanted since I was in second grade.) Knowing people are out there, enjoying one of my stories, is one of the best feelings in the world …

3. My car runs great despite its advancing age.

4. I have a roof over my head.

5. I have a day job I don’t hate (most of the time. It has its moments, as longtime readers well know. But when they happen, I try to take a deep breath and remind myself I’m lucky to be employed. Newspapers are a dying breed, after all.)

6. My iPhone. I love being able to check email, tweet and FB on the go. Heck, with all the things I have to do to promote my book(s), it’s practically a necessity.

7. Got a new laptop this year. It was more a “have to,” but I’m still thankful to have my new MacBook.

8. Jamie Mendell’s Good Life Holiday Challenge. If I can manage to apply what I’m learning, it’ll be one of the best things that’s happened to me this year. I think “life-changing” might be a good word to describe it, actually.

9. Friends, both online and IRL.

10. Family, even though I don’t see them often enough. Maybe when I make enough selling books to quit the day job, I’ll move closer to my niece and nephew.

11. A cute, warm new winter coat, with matching scarf, gloves and hat.

12. A body that keeps going even when I don’t treat it as well as I should. (Something I’m realizing through the Good Life Challenge.)

13. I have enough extra cash to make Starbucks my base for writing. Cheaper than renting office space, right? 😉

14. I got out of Flagstaff for the weekend. They got something like two feet of snow in town—but I was down south, in Camp Verde, with the Boyfriend. No shoveling for me!

15. Videos on the Internet can teach me to knit. My mom taught me to crochet when I was about 8, but I’ve always wanted to learn to knit, too. Finally, I’m doing it.

16. Living in beautiful, sunny northern Arizona (snow and all). I’m so glad I decided to leave Indiana in 1999.

17. Quiet times. Sometimes it’s nice to just sit and be still.

18. Two loving cats—but if I ever find out which one keeps peeing on my bed, it’s going to be one.

19. A Boyfriend who loves me at every size, and supports my writing. (This would probably be No. 1 or No. 2 … if I were ranking the list, which I’m not.)

20. Family game time. My parents were big on board games when I was younger, and the Boyfriend’s family likes to play cards. Even though I usually lose (and the Boyfriend is a terrible, smug winner), I still have fun.

I could probably come up with 20 more, but I need to get busy writing. A new story has been calling me.

Leave a Reply

