#WIAW: Eating the rainbow

Tuesday’s Elf for Health challenge, “eat the rainbow,” coincided with this week’s What I Ate Wednesday extravaganza.

The thing I realized? I eat a lot of brown food.

Something to work on …

As always, thanks to Jenn for hosting the WIAW party. Now, on to the eats.

Overnight Oats

Breakfast was a bowlful of overnight oats. In the mix: unsweetened almond milk, oats, a handful of dried cranberries, 2 teaspoons sunflower seeds, 1 teaspoon chia seeds and (added in the morning) some Justin’s almond butter.

I cooked up another batch of Jenn’s quick cranberry sauce Monday, and I thought about adding some to my oats, but wasn’t sure how it’d taste with the almond butter.

The rest of the day’s eats were off a bit. While I was eating breakfast, the power went off at the house. I planned to head back home from Starbucks before work, but got caught up in writing (ordering the judges’ copies of DIVA IN THE DUGOUT, actually) and picked up some food from Sprouts to get me through the work night.

Roast Beef Sandwich

Lunch was a roast beef sandwich on sourdough with some salt & vinegar chips. Note the green avocado, red onion, yellow mustard and green sprouts on the sandwich, please.

California Roll

I snacked on a California roll. Lots of color there, right?

KeVita

Sneaked in some orange with a mango-coconut Kevita.

Meatloaf with veggies

And had meatloaf with colorful veggies for dinner. More brown. Some unpictured ketchup added more red.

I like putting ketchup on my meatloaf. Sue me.

Not the best example of eating the rainbow, but it could have been worse.

I’ll be honest: I was all prepared to praise the idea of letting go of guilt surrounding food (one of the concepts we practiced in the Good Life Challenge last week) … but I struggled today. Kind of zoned out and stress-ate my lunch because when I got to work I couldn’t clock in or start working right away (power outage screwed things up). Then I started a downward shame spiral that led to eating more candy than I should have …

Guess I need to practice more.

Leave a Reply

