What I ate Wednesday: Thanksgiving edition


I was thrilled when Jenn said she was going to keep her WIAW link-up open through the weekend for everyone’s Thanksgiving feasts.

I’m working on very little sleep here, so forgive me if this post is relatively short and sweet. My roommate was out of town for Thanksgiving, and I ended up sleeping on the couch so Moose (who’s no longer an adorable puppy) didn’t have to spend all night in his crate after spending most of the day there. The minute I turned over at 6:30 in  the morning, my roommates’ other dog, Cinnamon, decided it was time for me to get up and feed her.

This is what sunrise looks like? Who knew?

This is what sunrise looks like? Who knew?

Since I was awake at 6:30, I ended up hitting the Black Friday sales at a few places, even though I’d had no intention of going out before 10 a.m. I figured since I was up, I might as well.

I stopped at Staples but they didn’t have what I was looking for. I went to Petsmart to pick up a 35-pound tub of cat litter at 50 percent off (just $8), and then out to Old Navy for a pair of $15  jeans in my current larger size.

Decided that continuing to try to stuff myself into the too-tight ones (or wearing crappy sweats all the time) was like punishing myself for gaining weight. And even though I’m not exactly happy about my current size, beating myself up about it is getting me nowhere. (Thank you, Good Life Challenge, for that realization, among others. I’m still loving it—and I will devote an entire post to it soon.)

Other stops included Office Max (mainly to kill time while I waited for Olsen’s Grain to open so I could buy more of Cocoa’s special allergen-free treats), and Michaels (because I want to teach  myself how to knit).

I’ve been watching Brooke learn to knit, and it looks like fun. I started once before, but abandoned the project when my plastic knitting needle broke.

A stop at Dunkin’ Donuts was a win for reasons I’ll talk about another time. And my Black Friday breakfast at IHOP was also an interesting experiment. I ordered the Peaches and Cream Brioche French Toast with 2 eggs, bacon and hash browns because after I perused the menu, that was what I really, really wanted. Usually, eating something like that would set me up to pig out throughout the day (because I shouldn’t have eaten THAT)—but not Friday. Again, I’ll write more about this soon.

Ahem. Let’s get on with the Thanksgiving eats.

My first Jazzercise classBreakfast (unpictured) was two pumpkin waffles with cranberry sauce eaten before I dashed out the door to my first Jazzercise class. Even though I didn’t know what I was doing half the time, it was so much fun. I stayed in the back of the room and just kept moving … for 120 minutes.

It reminded me again why I like exercise classes so much. After declaring my intention to go to the 8 a.m. class to my fellow Elf for Health elves, I almost changed my mind. Eight a.m.? And the class was an hour and 20 minutes long—apparently longer than usual. Then I saw a Facebook post from one of my former coworkers who lives in Flagstaff, saying she was going to be there. Bam. That tipped me back into the “I’m going” frame of mind.

I set two alarms, rolled out of bed and popped the pumpkin Eggos into the toaster. I topped them with a little I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter spray and some of Jenn’s Speedy Stovetop Cranberry Sauce, which I’d whipped up the night before. Yum!

After class, I stopped for iced coffee and ended up getting a lemon-filled donut, too. But instead of gobbling it down in the car like eating it was something to be ashamed of, I took it home and put it on a pretty plate.

Plated donut

I think the plate made the donut taste better. Okay, maybe not. But treating it like a treat took away the guilt I’d usually have for eating something I “shouldn’t.” Freeing, that.

My big Thanksgiving feast was eaten before I headed to work. I’d put sweet potatoes, green beans and a chicken breast in the slow cooker before leaving for Jazzercise, and they were ready around 1 p.m. I also sautéed some kale and onions in bacon grease. And, of course, more cranberry sauce on the side. That stuff is so good I’m wishing I’d followed the two-bag instructions for a bigger batch.

Thanksgiving lunch before work

Everything tastes better with bacon, right?

Turned out I should have cooked two chicken breasts, because I had plenty of leftover veggies and cranberry sauce.

Leftovers

Mmm. Leftovers …

I ended up eating the sweet potatoes and green beans for dinner at work, with a sandwich made with a sausage/apple/sweet potato/onion patty from the freezer.

Thanksgiving leftovers at work

The meat patty with cranberries, a Laughing Cow wedge and a Sandwich Thin. It’s the meal so nice, I ate it twice (had almost the same  thing at work Friday night, with a whole grain English muffin instead of a ST).

After dinner?

Mmm, pumpkin pie!

Dessert! I’d picked up two slices of pumpkin pie with whipped cream at Safeway Wednesday when I got off work. Ate one Wednesday and saved the other for Thanksgiving Day.

How do they keep the whipped cream from losing volume? You can see the strip I added from a can of whipped cream was already starting to “deflate” four hours after I added it. But the stuff the store put on was still perfect …

I did eat a couple of things I wasn’t as proud of: Some chips from the vending machine at work and the Pumpkin Spice Frappuccino I didn’t need so soon after eating lunch. I stopped at Starbucks on the way in to work more because it’s habit than because I couldn’t live without the caffeine fix.

Pumpkin Spice Frappuccino Vending Machine Chips The also-eatens. Not the most stellar eats, but that’s okay.

I swear, every time I set foot in the office, I want to start stress eating. Gotta work on that.

Leave a Reply

