I’m back, baby!

Okay, okay. I never really left. But I am FINALLY back on my game,weight-loss wise.

I faced the scale (not pretty). I’ve tried to make peace with the number (not too successfully, but I’m glad to see it’s going down a bit). I’ve spent more time in the kitchen in the last two weeks than I have in the last two months prior to that.

I’ve been trying some delicious new recipes. Watch for the “WIAW: Other People’s Food” edition this week …

I’ve been eating a lower-carb diet (still not full-on Atkins). Lose It! tells me I’ve consumed an average of 60 Net Carbs/day the week of Nov. 4 and 47 Net Carbs the week of Oct. 28. Not surprisingly since I’m not watching calories, I’ve been over the calorie allotment each week. However, that doesn’t seem to be hurting me too much.

Sunday was a high-carb day, and it probably skewed the week’s average. I went to see “About Time” and had some popcorn. Then, fueled by the movie’s “enjoy every day” message, I decided to enjoy my day by stopping at Dunkin’ Donuts for a donut after I finished my grocery shopping.

When I got home and checked my email, I had a note from my publisher that I’ve sold 100 books on Amazon for the month of November. The email prompted me to check my book’s Amazon sales ranking, and this is what I saw:

Single-digit Thousands!!

DIVA hit the single-digit thousands in its Amazon sales ranking for the first time (that I’m aware of)! And it crept onto another list, so it’s now on three lists instead of two.

That deserved a celebration, so I baked a cookie.

Pillsbury Pumpkin CookiesYou read that right. I baked ONE cookie and threw the rest of the package in the freezer. Instant portion control!

And it’s a good thing I did. Had I baked more than one, I’d have eaten more than one. It was so, so good, warm and fresh from the oven.

I don’t normally keep cookie dough in the house, but I bought these right before I decided to start cutting carbs again (and I couldn’t bring myself to toss them). I also bought a box of Town House crackers. (What can I say? I was on an Eat. All. The. Carbs tear. And again, I’m reminded I don’t miss them at all when I’m not eating them …)

I’ve been trying to get a little more sleep, too. There’ve been some nights I don’t even turn on my computer when I get home from work. As a result, my Buffer is nearly down to nothing, which I can’t stand. I like having a day or two’s worth of cushion in the Buffer.

But I guess there have to be trade-offs. Being more well-rested is probably more important than setting myself up to tweet regularly.

Almost editedI had to work Saturday. Ugh. Had Sunday off, but spent a good chunk of it editing BEAUTY AND THE BALLPLAYER. I’m making progress: I now have considerably fewer pages left to get through than I’ve already edited. That little pile on top is all I have left to edit …

Bit by bit, I’m getting Book 2 ready for its March release.

And I finally feel as if I’m getting a handle on that elusive balance we all seek. Stick around. That’ll probably change tomorrow. But for now, it feels pretty darn good.

 

Leave a Reply

