Back to reality

Long time no blog.

That’s what happens when you A) go on a novel-writing binge and B) eat all the things.

I was free from the day job for a glorious week and a half. I wrote about a third of a 50,000 word novel (18K, bringing the total word count so far to 21K), started planning some publicity for my debut novel (which comes out the week of Oct. 15), drank many and varied Starbucks concoctions and road-tripped to Tucson with the Boyfriend (where many evils were consumed).

I got hooked Blend Retreat

I got hooked on Keurig at Blend Retreat

Bigger than some hotel rooms

Bigger than some hotel rooms

Tucson from the hotel room window

Tucson from the hotel room window

I also spent a short time hanging out at Starbucks near his apartment in Mesa and his work in Chandler.

Vacation is over now, and I plan to get back to normal.

Problem is, my normal diet/exercise schedule hasn’t been all that great lately.

I totally fell off the GoFitGals bootcamp wagon last week. Not only did I eschew the GFG-approved items I took with me to the Boyfriend’s for his delicious-but-terrible-for-me junk food, but I didn’t work out once. I wrenched my back Monday and spent the rest of the week hobbling around. I was barely able to move most of the time. Exercise was out of the question.

Now it’ll be Friday before I  have the money to go grocery shopping so I can fully climb back on the wagon. I have some meals from the first two weeks in the freezer, and that should be enough to get me through. Fresh veggies will be hit and miss, though. I think I can salvage most of the bag of spinach, and maybe some bell peppers and asparagus.

However, I shouldn’t let that stop me.

I spent some time today trying to catch up on reading a backlog of blog posts, and stumbled on this gem from Roni. She included it in a post on 10 dining-out strategies from a weight-loss maintainer, apparently written in 2010. Don’t know how I missed it the first time …

You are not in an all-or-nothing situation (it took me 15 years to figure that out). Just because you are going to eat out doesn’t mean all bets are off. Simply order smart, enjoy your meal and have NO REGRETS.

Read more at http://ronisweigh.com/2013/08/10-eating-out-strategies-from-this-weight-loss-maintainer.html#Gdy45qTojTTMdJMt.99

In other words, Just because I can’t do something perfectly doesn’t mean I shouldn’t try at all.

For far too long this summer/fall, I’ve been ordering/eating whatever. Saying “all bets are off” because I don’t want to/have the time to cook. Going for the “fun” food instead of the healthier one.

And the scale shows it. I’m pretty much back to the weight I was when I re-joined Weight Watchers at the start of the year.

Up, down. Up, down. Yo-yo again.

There’s no way I’ll be at my goal weight for my 42nd birthday in a couple of weeks. Maybe I knew that months ago and started sabotaging my progress. Maybe I’ll never find the perfect balance between writing and weight loss. It seems that when I’m focusing on writing, I forget about weight loss and vice versa.

I need to be able to do both.

2 responses to “Back to reality

  1. I read this article in the New York Times yesterday and it reminded me of when you talk about being able to write or eat right but not both.

    • Fascinating! So there may be a reason (besides lack of willpower). And it may also explain what I’ve often said about Atkins being easier for me to stick to.

Leave a Reply

