Feeling Fab Friday Five

Fab? Maybe not quite that good, but I am feeling MUCH better.

Funny how a couple of in-control days make such a difference.Cheesy Brussels Sprouts

I took a 25-minute walk, planned good eats and managed to get two blog posts written for my author blog.

I’ve also been playing on zazzle.com, where I can make a custom iPhone case. (Now that site’s full of fun stuff you didn’t know you needed.) But I think I’m going to hold off until I get the cover for my first release … or maybe my new website/logo.

Haven’t decided yet.

What I did decide is that shaved brussels sprouts rule. I first heard about them on other blogs, by folks who got to make regular trips to Trader Joe’s. I even got a couple of bags on my last TJ’s run … way back in March, if you can believe it. (I only get to go when I’m in Prescott for NARWA meetings, and I missed May’s meeting in favor of attending Blend2013.)

Imagine the happy dance I did when I spotted bags of shaved sprouts at Safeway the other day. They went into my cart immediately, and I used a good portion of the bag in Thursday’s lunch.

I saw this idea over at Carrots N Cake. But because I was too lazy to go searching, I winged it. In the mix:

  • 1/4 cup diced onion and 1 1/2 cups shaved brussels sprouts, sauteed in 1/2 Tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1 sausage link (I used Safeway’s Open Nature brand chicken Italian Sausage)
  • 2 wedges of Laughing Cow white cheddar cheese

It turned out great. My only complaint was that the cheese didn’t get smooth-melty like a mac&cheese sauce — even after I popped the bowl in the microwave for 30 seconds. Once I resigned myself to not having a creamy cheese sauce, I wolfed that bowl down. So delicious!

Next time, I’ll probably boost the brussels sprout content to 2 cups.

Thursday’s eats weren’t quite as good as Wednesday’s. I ended up 98 calories under goal, with a breakdown of 42% fat, 34% carbs (about 136 net carbs) and 24% protein.

Friday FiveSo … I promised a Friday Five.

Five reasons I’m happy to be me

  1. Did I mention I now have two fantastic book covers with MY name on them? 😉
  2. A winning record for our softball team. Hey, 1-0 counts!
  3. iPhone upgrade (though I’m still catching up all my apps).
  4. Getting back in an exercise groove of sorts. (A streak of two days is still a streak, right?)
  5. Pedicure still looks great.

Five things that could be better

  1. Technical difficulties at work
  2. Moose’s obnoxious barking while he’s in his crate
  3. Exercise habits (Always room for improvement.)
  4. Cash flow. (There’s never enough of it.)
  5. Clutter. (Again.)

Five foods I used to hate but now can’t get enough of

  1. Brussels sprouts
  2. Cauliflower
  3. Anything lemon-flavored
  4. Blueberries
  5. Avocado

 

 

 

 

One response to “Feeling Fab Friday Five

Leave a Reply

