Stop the insanity

My dad used to have a T-shirt that said “Insanity is hereditary: You get it from your kids.”

If that’s true, my childless self has no excuse. Yet I’m beginning to wonder if I am a tad insane. If you consider the definition of insanity to be doing the same thing over and over again, expecting different results, I just might qualify.

Yes, that’s my way of confessing to another out-of-control weekend. It started with lunch at a cute little Greek place in Prescott, where the Boyfriend and I split a gyros plate and hummus/pita appetizer. (Side note: Homemade hummus tastes so much more amazing than the store-bought stuff.)

BaklavaUnder the mistaken belief that you can’t leave a Greek restaurant without having baklava, I ordered dessert. Oh, was it delicious. So light and flaky — and just sweet enough. The touch of honey was good, but not overpowering.

Then that old “I blew it” feeling took over and I kept eating. Handfuls of PopChips. Mac & cheese. One of those pretzel-bun bacon cheeseburgers from Wendy’s (and the Boyfriend’s chili cheese fries). Sunday was no better, and included a biscuit and gravy, a chocolate milkshake and a Reuben sandwich from Arby’s.

Why I do that to myself, I don’t know.

What I SHOULD have done was track my lunch. I probably would have realized it wasn’t nearly as terrible as I feared. That’s what happened on Monday. I committed to tracking — and journaled the hot dog, popcorn and pretzel I downed while watching two movies (“The Heat” and “White House Down”).

FroYoTurned out not to be the most horrible thing I could have eaten. My day ended up being WAY high in carbs (288 grams), but only 193 calories over the day’s allotment — and that was with a trip to the local yogurt shop for an after-dinner fro-yo treat.

I stuck with original tart yogurt and mango sorbet, topped with strawberries, raspberries, pineapple, a sprinkle of coconut and a few chocolate chips. (Yes, I’m aware it added quite a bit to my carb count. I’m going to cut back today.)

Walk 070113Since I have to work on the Fourth, I had Monday off. After my movie marathon, there was enough light left for a walk. I ended up walking nearly 2 miles in 32 1/2 minutes.

Not too fast, but better than nothing. I managed to work up a sweat.

Some days, that’s all I can ask for.

I shape meThis quote showed up on my Instagram feed Sunday night, and it stuck with me … so much so that I just went back to do a screen grab.

It’s so true. It’s up to ME to shape my day, to take control and make the most of opportunities.

I’m going to have to remember that. My choices are my own. My success (or failure) is mine to win or lose.

Leave a Reply

