Going for two losses in a row

This weekend’s softball game was the first one this season I’d been able to play in, having been laid low with food poisoning for the first game and driving back from Utah when the second one was scheduled.

Sadly, it didn’t end well. After being ahead the whole time — by as much as 4 or 5 runs at one point, the other team came back in the last half of the last inning and beat us by one.

Oh well. It was still fun to play. I even managed to make contact with the ball in my first two at-bats. Of course, I hit it right toward the pitcher, and ended up getting out at first both times … but at least I hit the ball. (Longtime readers of the blog will know what a feat that is!)

Breakfast sandwich 060213 walkSunday morning started off with a breakfast sandwich. In the mix: 1 egg, sauteed spinach, a Gimme Lean sausage patty (2 oz. of “meat”) and a Laughing Cow garlic & herb cheese wedge, all atop a Sandwich Thin. Delicious!

I do wish I’d cooked the egg just a little longer, though. The yolk was still really runny. Better for sopping up with the bread, I guess.

With breakfast in my belly, I headed outside for a long walk — 43 minutes and 2.52 miles long, to be exact. I had to make up for not walking Friday, the day I slept ’til noon.

I didn’t take a dedicated mile-long walk on Saturday, either, but at the end of the day, my pedometer said 1.6 or something — clearly more than a mile all told. But I don’t even need to count that mile.

That’s right. When I total all the mileage my Nike+ recorded for the week, I logged 8.27 miles. More than enough to qualify for walking 1 mile a day for 7 days.

Thanks for the push, Mel. Your Summer Walk Challenge has gotten me moving again.

All that was left by the time I remembered I wanted a picture.

All that was left by the time I remembered I wanted a picture.

When I got back home, I whipped up a light lunch: This Strawberry Shortcake Smoothie from Carrots N Cake. I’d pinned it FOR-ever ago. (It was actually the first pin on my Smoothie-Palooza board.) I knew I had all the ingredients in the kitchen, so I gave it a whirl.

I don’t know why I waited so long to try it. Simple, but tasty. Filling, too. It was so good, in fact, that I started slurping it down before I remembered to snap its photo. I used Vega Vanilla Almondilla protein powder, strawberries and unsweetened vanilla almond milk, along with a little vanilla extract and extra ice. (I like my smoothies THICK.)

After lunch (and a few too many games of Candy Crush), I headed to Starbucks. As I was pulling in to the parking lot, my writer friend texted me to say she was headed to Starbucks. Great minds … We spent the afternoon there, working. I was on such a roll that I didn’t go to the movies at 4, like I’d planned.

Pre-game dinnerI left Starbucks at around 5:30 so I could run to Target and pick up some dinner before the softball game. My dinner ended up being a Whopper Jr. and value-sized onion rings from Burger King (11 Points). I didn’t feel too guilty about it, since I’d walked earlier in the day and had a game to play.

I also didn’t feel guilty about the chocolate-dipped cone I grabbed after the game. Yeah, it happened again. Now I need to forget how delicious those things are, because I don’t have 6 WW Points a day to devote to chocolate-dipped ice cream cones from McDonald’s. The only reason I had the Points Sunday was because I’d earned 7 Activity Points.

By the end of the night, I ended up using ALL my FlexPoints and 4 APs.

But I’m still pretty confident I’ll see a loss on the scale this morning. Factor in Sunday’s game, and  I’m hoping for two losses in a row!

Today marks the start of Amanda’s Clean and Lean Project. I’m both excited and scared, as my eats aren’t particularly clean. (Note the fast food dinner above.) Even when I’m eating completely on-plan, like I did for breakfast, processed stuff works its way in (*cough* Sandwich Thin).

This is going to be interesting, for sure.

Leave a Reply

