Survey Saturday (on a Sunday)

Survey SaturdayIt’s not Saturday, my usual day for doing Internet surveys, but I’ve been wanting to share this “Currently” survey since I saw it pop up on Mindy’s and Julie’s blogs.

Without a lengthy, rambling introduction, I’ll get right to it:

current book:  As usual, I’ve got about three going at once. On the Kindle app for my iPhone, I’m reading “A Royal Pain” by Megan Mulry. My Nook ereader is ready to serve up Kristan Higgins’ “Somebody to Love.” And on the actual paper book front, I have about a thousand to choose from. The top of my to-be-read pile has Robin Perini’s “In Her Sights” and Cherry Adair’s “Undertow.”

current music:  Eight times out of 10, my iPod offers up something from the 80s. That’s what happens when you’re 40-something, I suppose. Most recently, I listened to “Goody Two Shoes” by Adam Ant, “Dude Looks Like a Lady” by Aerosmith, “Wreck of the Day” by Anna Nalick (the only non-80s tune in the bunch) and “Private Idaho” by the B52s. All great walking songs, with the possible exception of “Wreck of the Day.” It’s good for slow, cool-down walking.

Chocolate-dipped conecurrent guilty pleasure:  I went to McDonald’s for lunch and saw they’re offering a chocolate-dipped cone. Not willing to order willy-nilly, I tracked down its nutritional stats — and when I discovered it had 6 WW PointsPlus, decided to indulge. OMG, so good. It was the perfect combo of chocolate coating and creamy ice cream. And at 6 Points, it’s a “cheaper” indulgence than the Wendy’s Frosty Waffle Cone (which they do now have in Flagstaff). That sucker has 8 Points.

current nail color:  Who has time for a manicure?

current drink:  A Skinny Caramel iced latte from the Bux will always do me. If I’m in the mood to splurge, a Java Chip Frappuccino Light with a little whipped cream.

current food:  I’m still loving Lindsay’s Tuna-Quinoa Cakes … and her Greek Black Bean Burgers. Heck, just give me pretty much anything from The Lean Green Bean and I’m happy. It seems my sister-in-law is also a fan. When I was at their place in Salt Lake City last month, she had a batch of Quinoa Breakfast Bars in the freezer and we had Tuna-Quinoa Cakes one night for dinner. Well, the adults did. I can’t remember what my niece and nephew ate.

current favorite show:  As I’ve said before, I don’t get a chance to watch much prime time TV. I am, however, excited about the new episodes of “Arrested Development” on Netflix. All I have to do is  borrow the Boyfriend’s Netflix login so I can enjoy …

current wish list:  Winning the lottery. I’m getting ready to self-publish my first novel this fall, and I’m quickly realizing you have to spend money to make money.

current needs:  Money. (See above.) Time. Exercise and healthy eating.

2013-06-02 00.17.13current indulgence:  Popcorn with a little butter and bacon salt. I found this salt at Cost Plus World Market last time I went out there to replenish my supply of Torani sugar-free syrups. Putting it on popcorn sounded like such a good idea that you’d better believe I added it to my shopping basket.

current blessing:  Visiting with Dan, Sharon and the kiddos. I need to get up there more often.

current outfit:  Victoria’s Secret Pink sweatpants and a Nike sweatshirt. Mismatched, because that’s how I roll this week. I dress like I’m color blind, and I don’t care. That, too, happens when you’re 40-something. Other people’s opinions cease to matter quite so much.

current excitement:  Preparing to self-publish my first novel. It’s going to be a lot of work, and there’s so much to learn … but I’m excited to take on the challenge. I have stories to tell, and I’m ready to send them into the world.

Your turn! What’s your current excitement?

5 responses to “Survey Saturday (on a Sunday)

    • I hadn’t either, until I saw it at Cost Plus. I love the idea of it more than the actual product, though.

Leave a Reply

