A marvelous Memorial Day

Blessedly, I didn’t have to work Monday. That was fine by me. Not only did I have time to take a 1.8-mile walk, but also get some quality rewriting done on Brad and Erin’s story and whip up a delicious dinner.

The day didn’t get off to the best start, though — and I blame the dreaded scale.

Yes, the big metal monster reared its ugly head, telling me I’ve gained three pounds since my last weigh-in. Granted, that was three weeks ago (I skipped the last two Mondays, one because I was in Utah and the next because I was at the Boyfriend’s … well, that and I didn’t really want to see the number on the scale.)

That puts me back at 217. There are two pluses to that: One, I regained a Point, so now I get to eat 34 Points a day. (I don’t know why 34 seems so much more manageable than 33, but it does.) Two, it wasn’t worse. Especially after the crap I ate this weekend, I half expected to see a higher number on the scale.

So I’m happy to still be in the 210s, and ready to get back to the business of taking weight off.

Me and My Shadow 052713 WalkI started with a 30-minute walk to kick off Mel’s Summer Walk Challenge.

It was a beautiful morning to get outside — and yes, it was actually morning when I started. Note that 8:55 starting time. Because I was in bed before midnight Saturday night, I didn’t have to sleep ’til noon.

Ah, what I could accomplish if I worked more regular hours!

I hoofed it down the street to one of my favorite walking neighborhoods, Railroad Springs.

Berry Delicious SmoothieWhen I got back home, I whipped up a berry smoothie: 1 cup each frozen blueberries and strawberries, blended with strawberry Chobani, a handful of spinach and  1 1/4 cups almond milk.

It was pretty good, but I really prefer tropical combos. Mango/peach/pineapple smoothies don’t have all those tiny seeds.

Shortly after breakfast, I prepped/roasted a butternut squash. I cut part of it into chunks and part into fries, and stuffed the bulb with quinoa a la Roni’s recipe.

Chicken Burger with Butternut Squash FriesFor lunch, I served the squash fries alongside a chicken burger topped with onions. Sandwich Thin and a wedge of Laughing Cow white cheddar were also involved. Yum! The combo was a definite keeper. I’ll have to remember that the next time I hit Safeway, since it was one of those pre-cooked Open Nature caramelized onion chicken burgers. The burger itself had just 5 WW Points, so lunch had 10 altogether. Not too shabby for a satisfying burger/fries.

The rest of the squash got packed into containers for consumption this week — my only nod to Sunday Food Prep this week. (So it was Monday. I was still off, making it feel like Sunday.)

Writing TimeAfter lunch, it was writing time. I treated myself to a skinny caramel latte while I worked. For once, I really did work. (That hasn’t happened much since returning from Utah.) I reworked a problematic scene and am really pleased with how it turned out.

That’s always a nice feeling.

Several hours and several hundred words later, I left the Bux and ran to the store to pick up supplies for the recipe I wanted to try for dinner.

I decided to tackle the Triple-Bean Vegetarian Burgers from Jenn at Peas and Crayons.

That turned out to be an excellent decision.

Yes, it was a bit of a pain in the butt to make — and I about lost it when, after frying the onions and mixing the burgers, I realized they had to chill for 30 minutes before I cooked ’em. I didn’t think I’d make it. However, cleaning up the kitchen gobbled up most of the wait time.

recipe from Peas and CrayonsThe burgers were definitely worth the work … and the wait. Full of flavor, they were downright delicious.

Forgive my picture, which doesn’t do them justice. I just realized it doesn’t show the burger as much as the tomato and onion I piled on top of it. Next time … I have three more burgers to get the photo right.

Since I’d already eaten a bun with lunch, I did a lettuce-wrapped burger for dinner. That left me with Points to taste the roommate’s homemade pasta salad. It, too, was delicious.

That was a whole day of homemade food — for only 35 WW Points (including an after-dinner chocolate shake made with a WW smoothie packet, banana, 1 Tablespoon PB and some ice cubes). And it was just as satisfying as the junk I ate Sunday.

I can do this.

I will do this.

One meal … one choice at a time.

In the words of Theodora, I may lose the battle, but I will win the war.

3 responses to “A marvelous Memorial Day

  1. Sounds like a delicious day of eats! I wouldn’t even expect all of that to be diet food! And good work on prepping something for the week – I end up eating horribly on weeks that I don’t have something prepped. I’m not trying to lose weight, but eating crappy food tends to make me feel, well…crappy 😛

  2. haha you’re like me in the kitchen eh? My friends all made them without losing their minds but I TRASHED my kitchen and took the whole time cleaning as well! SO SO SO glad they were worth the mess and that you liked them! ❤ xoooooo

Leave a Reply

