A wasted trip?

The view from my "office" — the Starbucks at the Hyatt Pinyon Point.

The view from my “office” — the Starbucks at the Hyatt Pinyon Point.

On the way through Village of Oak Creek.

On the way through Village of Oak Creek, from the parking lot of Circle K.

When I’m surrounded by scenery like this, I can never say driving down the mountain to Sedona is a wasted trip.

However, I can say I was there from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Friday without getting done what I went down there to do. So I get to go back again today.

Rough life, eh?

I made the trip to pick up my old laptop and transferred files, figuring it’d be a simple, quick transaction. Not so. My computer was still in pieces on the work bench, and it had to stay that way to access the hard drive with the files. And, apparently, it takes longer to copy a whole computer’s worth of files than it does to copy a handful of documents from one folder to another.

Who knew? Not techno-challenged moi, that’s for sure.

I stayed in town as long as I could before I had to leave to get to work, hanging out in the Uptown Sedona Starbucks for a little more than an hour before stopping at the Bashas’ deli and taking a short side trip to Page Springs to meet the Boyfriend for a quick “hello.” (He was up from his new place in the Valley to get his truck looked at.)

Not sure my photo does it justice.

Not sure my photo does it justice.

The effects of my lack of veggies earlier in the week must have still been lingering, because I ended up with a veggie sandwich from the grocery store deli. I was in line to get a quarter pound of deli turkey to snack on as I drove and the sandwich menu caught my eye. The veggie special looked awesome: Sprouts, lettuce, tomato, cucumber, avocado, cheese and pesto mayo on whole grain bread.

Don’t worry — I also got my turkey. I need my protein!

I didn’t realize a veggie sandwich could taste so good. Or be so filling, though that was probably due to the avocado and mayo. Fat is filling. Come to think of it, fat makes things taste better, too. Why do you think bacon is so darn delicious?

I estimated the sandwich at 10 WW Points. Hope I didn’t underestimate!

So I have a ton of stuff to do before I leave for Salt Lake City early Monday. There’s laundry … packing … cleaning out the car … dog-sitting while the roommate is away … organizing a few advance blog posts so I have more time to enjoy my visit with the family (and Blend Retreat) … prepping for the NARWA meeting I’ll be missing while I’m away …

Wow. It’s going to be a super-busy weekend. Guess it’s a good thing the Boyfriend didn’t end up sticking around.

I think I can weigh in for my DietBet today. If not today, tomorrow, because it starts Monday. I’m eager to see if last Monday’s 214 was a false low brought on by the whatever I had over the weekend. Probably.

Ah well. I’ll get there for real soon enough.

Monday also marks the start of the Go Fit Gals’ newest challenge, the Short and Sweet Challenge. I signed up. I’m ready to kick some challenge booty!

Leave a Reply

