WIAW: The Vacation Edition


It’s Wednesday, and you know what that means: Time for another WIAW post. As always, thanks to Jenn at Peas & Crayons for hosting the linkup party.

With me being on vacation, this is an unusual week for eats. I’m spending more time at Starbucks, trying to write, and a little more time in the kitchen. But my meal schedule is off.

On Tuesday, I had breakfast just before 11 a.m., snacked at around 2 p.m., and had dinner before 6 p.m. (instead of my usual 7 or later). Very strange, indeed. Here’s what I ate:

Strawberry Cheesecake Smoothie

A smoothie that looked something like this one. I drank it all before remembering I should have snapped a photo for WIAW. Tuesday’s smoothie was more pink than red, as I made it with 1/2 cup each frozen strawberries, peaches and mango, 1 1/4 cup almond milk and 1/2 cup Greek yogurt. Delicious. I think the peaches add just enough sweetness.

Then I headed to Starbucks for writing time (775 words added to my WIP today — woot!), where I sipped on a hot skinny mocha latte. An hour or so into my writing session, I pulled out a snack:

Pumpkin Seeds & Chocolate Chips

That’s 1 Tablespoon of pumpkin seeds mixed with 9 grams of Enjoy Life mini chips. (Just 2 WW Points for that satisfying snack — and yummy, to boot.)

After a run to Walmart for more frozen fruit for smoothies, I went home, took a 20-minute walk (1.27 miles) and fixed dinner.

Turkey Burger w/ Turnip "fries"

My last Trader Joe’s turkey burger was topped with some of last night’s baked veggies on a Bagel Thin with ketchup, mustard and a wedge of Laughing Cow white cheddar. On the side, I had some turnip fries. (Drizzle turnips cut into fry shape with 1 tsp olive oil, salt and a sprinkle of chili powder. Bake at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes.) I made some ranch dressing to dip the fries in by mixing 2 Tablespoons of Greek yogurt with some ranch dressing powder.

It totally hit the “I want a burger and fries” spot while mostly fitting in the parameters of Simply Filling.

Of course, I had to burn 5 (or more) of my weekly 49 Points after dinner by treating myself to more froyo.

And now I need to stop visiting that place for a month or so.

Now I need to stop visiting that place.

This time, I went with nonfat angel food cake and chocolate flavored yogurts, topped with chocolate, butterscotch and white chocolate chips and a few slivered almonds.The whole shebang cost less than Friday’s creation, but it probably had just as many Points.

And now I need to swear off build-your-own froyo until I get to Blend Retreat. I bet there’ll be a trip to a yogurt shoppe while I’m there.

Signing off now, but I plan to snack on some Simply Filling popcorn (not pictured because I haven’t popped it yet) while I do some reading and brainstorming for my writing blog.

Leave a Reply

