I have glasses

Finally! I picked up my new glasses before work Thursday. I love the look of them, at least. However, the first words out of  my mouth after slipping them on were, “Wow, they’re strong.”

They are, in fact, so strong that I’m not convinced I don’t need a pair of reading glasses. I certainly can’t proof pages at work with my head close to the paper, as is my habit. And I have to hold my iPhone almost at arm’s length to read the screen comfortably. Same with my computer screen: The farther I sit from it, the better. I’m balancing my laptop across my knee now so I can see to write this post.

I suppose that’s a sign I DO need reading glasses. Damn. Next stop, bifocals … Getting old sucks.

I’m not so sure about the color-changing lenses, either. Despite the lovely weather during my walk Thursday morning, the sky was overcast by the time I got to the eye doctor’s. It didn’t stop my glasses from darkening outside, though, so when I took a photo to share on Instagram, I appeared to be wearing sunglasses.

At least they seem to lighten up completely inside, as you can see in the photo on the right. That’s me, at my desk at work.

New glasses and a walk

As has been the case all week, I didn’t want to get up and work out Thursday morning. The difference was, I did it anyway — and when I was done, I felt awesome.

I went ahead and did the Best Body Bootcamp Workout B that I skipped Wednesday, then walked around the neighborhood, soaking up the sunshine. It was a slow walk, in part because it was a beautiful day to be outside. (I was also practicing a bit of “pedtextrian” behavior — walking and texting … or rather, walking and tweeting. Shh … don’t tell anyone.)

I waited until I returned home to tweet:

A little while later, Tina responded.

She’s right. I might start working out because I know I should … but I always feel great when I’m done. I actually ended up walking 10 minutes longer than I’d originally planned, just because I felt great and my iPod was giving me good songs. If I could remember that good feeling before I started, I’d be more likely to move it.

Before I started my workout, I ate a tasty breakfast: These banana-cocoa overnight oats.

Banana Cocoa Oats

In the mix: 1/2 cup oats, 1 cup unsweetened almond milk, 2 teaspoons cocoa powder, 1 teaspoon peanut butter, 1 teaspoon chia seeds and 1 packet Splenda. I stirred everything together and let it sit overnight, then sliced up a banana to add to the bowl in the morning.

So tasty!

Lunch was a fruit & Greek yogurt smoothie — frozen pineapple, peaches and mango, blended with almond milk, water and yogurt. Then it was off to Starbucks for writing time and a skinny vanilla latte. When I got to the office, I ate turkey, sweet potato chips and cucumbers with hummus. And a little while later, I had my first Emerald Cocoa-PB mixed nuts of the week.

Not having them every day makes ’em taste even better, right?

Dinner was two Tuna-Quinoa Cakes, brussels sprouts and some brown rice that I squirted with sriracha in a misguided attempt to give it some flavor. Bad choice. It was WAY too spicy for my Midwestern taste buds.

Now I know. Next time, I’ll add flavor by cooking the rice in broth.

After dinner, I had some Apricot-Mango flavored Yoplait Light (also a Power Food, so no Points spent). It was OK, but I think I prefer flavoring Greek yogurt myself. And when I got home from work, I did snack again — but on the rest of the roasted brussels sprouts that were hanging out in the fridge.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: I’m loving Simply Filling — especially now that I’ve discovered the daily 2 teaspoons of olive oil don’t eat up any of the weekly 49. (It didn’t seem fair that they were required and detracting from my weeklies, so I’m glad I reread the materials and saw you don’t have to count them.)

Let’s just hope the scale agrees with me on Monday.

On today’s agenda: A workout, a haircut and perhaps lunch out. I’m thinking Chipotle, provided enough of the ingredients in my fave bowl are Power Foods.

(Good news for me: I just looked up Chipotle in the WW app, and the meat, beans and fajita veggies ARE Power Foods, as are most of  the salsas. Bummer that the guac has 4 Points, though. I just might have to suck it up and splurge. I love their guacamole. The sour cream is 3 … I think I’d rather spend 1 extra and get the guac.)

4 responses to “I have glasses

    • Thanks. Hey, I had to rescue your comment on The Chicklets from unapproved land. What’s up with that?

  1. Love the glasses. Hubs needs contact lenses all day and reading glasses on top of the contact lenses – it’s a little strange to think about – so you’re not the only one! I don’t do point-counting, but I would go with 4 points for guac over 3 for sour cream without a doubt.

Leave a Reply

