Weight Watchers, Take 2: At a crossroads

It’s no secret that for the last couple  weeks, I’ve found myself HUNGRY … all the time. I mentioned it in last week’s WIAW post (The Struggling Edition), and it hasn’t really gotten better.

But — and this is a BIG but — I think I’ve figured out what’s wrong.

Too many of my Points each day have been allocated to junk.

That’s right. I’ve been getting complacent. Lazy. Too reliant on convenience foods. Too skimpy on veggies and lean protein.

How do I know? Let me tell you a tale of my weekend. Two days, two very different ways of eating. (WW PointsPlus values are in parentheses.)

On Saturday, I could not stop eating … and a lot of it was junk. What was somewhat healthful (Lindsay’s Tuna Quinoa Cake, for example) was consumed on the go, without a side of veggies.

Shortly after I woke up, I had a tuna quinoa cake (4) on half a Sandwich Thin (1) smeared with 1 teaspoon of Miracle Whip (0). I ate that on the way out the door, then parked my butt at Starbucks for a few hours of writing/editing. While there, I drank a sugar-free syrup-flavored latte (3) and munched on a serving of TJ’s Wasabi Wow Mix (4).

I had softball practice at 3, but was running late because I stopped at Taco Bell for a Doritos Locos Cool Ranch taco on the way. (Only 4 WW PointsPlus, and I’d been wanting to try one.) After an hour and fifteen minutes of being on my feet, most of them moving (unless I was standing around, waiting for a ball to come my way), I stopped at Dunkin’ Donuts for an iced coffee (1) and ended up getting a donut, too (8).

Dinner was a frozen SmartOnes cheese pizza (7). After I gobbled it down, I headed back to Starbucks because I discovered when I got home that part of my power cord was missing. Somehow, I’d managed to leave it in the outlet. Since I was there, I got a Java Chip Frappuccino Light with whip (6). Later on, I devoured some kettle corn Popchips (3) and a coconut cream Easter egg (3).

That totaled 48 Points — and I was STILL hungry. Right before midnight, I headed across town to the Super Walmart, in hopes I’d be able to get my hands on one of those elusive Chobani Flips. (Key lime or coco loco were calling my name.) Alas, they still weren’t to be found. I did, however, find this frozen chocolate ice cream-type dessert called Arctic Zero … only 1 Point. I picked up a pint, along with a bag of spinach.

Back home, after midnight, I knew I had to put a stop to the endless grazing. The first thing I did was saute some onion and pepper strips in olive oil. I added a couple handfuls of spinach and then tossed in an ounce of deli ham.

Real food? Shocking, I know. 😛

A big bowl of veggies and 1/2 cup of “ice cream” came out to 3 WW Points … and finally, I went to sleep happy (and not hungry).

At some point Saturday night, I started seriously considering switching to WW Simply Filling technique. In desperation, I hoped the change would help me shift my focus back to real food. I even tweeted to Brooke, who I know has had great success with the program, to ask if she had any advice.

Egg with Butternut HashWhen I woke up Sunday, at close to noon, the idea was still fresh in my mind. While I wasn’t quite ready to commit to the switch, mainly because I didn’t have money to stock up at the store, I knew I wanted to put the day’s focus on what WW calls “filling foods.” That means a lot of veggies, fruits, lean protein and fat-free dairy.

I cooked an egg in olive oil and served it over the last of last week’s roasted butternut squash, along with a couple handfuls of spinach sauteed in the oil left over from frying the egg. The whole plate of food was just 4 Points.

And it was, indeed, filling. Amazing how that works, eh?

I did pop a mini bag of popcorn (3) to sneak into the theater with me, just so I wouldn’t be tempted to buy some there. Then I went to see “G.I. Joe: Retaliation.” It didn’t have nearly enough Channing Tatum in it, although The Rock is pretty easy on the eyes.

I ended up at the 3D version of the movie by accident, though, and was reminded why I’m not a big fan. It cost $3 more to get in, and the 3D effects just gave me a headache. Next time, I’ll be more careful when I pick my flick.

After the movie, it was Starbucks time. I got a latte made with skim milk and sugar-free hazelnut and mocha syrups (3) and a bag of roasted almonds (6). Since I was there for a while, I grabbed an iced passion tea with 1 Splenda (0).

Irish NachosDinner was a variation on Jenn’s Irish Nachos. I topped my potato slices with onions and peppers (sauteed in cooking spray, since I’d already had my 2 tsp of oil for the day), a serving of Mexican-flavored soy crumbles, a full 1/2 cup of 2% milk cheese, salsa and 2 T fat-free Greek yogurt.

I doubled the amount of cheese I used last time I made the nachos, from one serving to two, because they weren’t cheesy enough the first time.

The extra cheese was certainly worth an extra 3 Points. Yum!

The entire plate — and it was a BIG plate — had 9 Points, and I snacked on a couple slices of ham (2) while I waited for the potatoes to cook.

Even after eating that gigantic dinner and a fairly high-Points snack (the almonds), I’d only eaten 30 Points,  leaving me with 4 to get to my daily allowance.

I made a mint cookie shake with a WW mint smoothie packet (2), water, ice and 2 reduced-fat Oreos (2).

You want to know the funny thing? Even though I ate less, I’m not as hungry. That’s the beauty of eating real food, I suppose.

As I hinted in the title of this post, I find myself at a crossroads. Do I make the switch to Simply Filling for a week or two in an attempt to shake up my routine and reduce my dependence on convenience foods?

Will it give me the jolt I need to move closer to a whole foods diet? Eat clean(er)? Start losing weight faster again?

Is it more in line with good nutrition principles like those Tina outlines in her Best Body Bootcamp support documents?

Grrr. Why is this so hard? At my age, I should have this stuff figured out.

I guess maybe I’ll see what the scale says this morning and make my decision. Provided my tax refund finally arrives, I’ll have a few bucks for groceries.

I skipped out on Workout C last week, but am looking forward to getting back into bootcamp with Workout A today.

Leave a Reply

