Looking up

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: What a difference a day makes!

Thursday night, I was lamenting computer problems and a stupid headline mistake seen by thousands of newspaper readers. My mood was crappy and I had a headache most of the day.

Naked Juice & Cottage Cheese SmoothieFriday morning, I kicked off my day with a new-to-me smoothie. Borrowing a page from the playbook of Allie (Live, Laugh, Eat), I blended together Naked juice and cottage cheese. Allie blogged about it in her The Cheesecake [Smoothie] Factory post earlier this week.

In my mix: 1/2 cup low-fat cottage cheese and 1 cup strawberry/banana juice. I should have double-checked Allie’s post before breakfast, though, because I forgot the graham cracker.

*Face-palm.*

Ah well. The smoothie I drank did have 5 WW PointsPlus without a graham cracker “crust,” so that was plenty.

You can see by the picture how good it was. I sucked half of it down before I thought to stop and snap.

With breakfast in my belly and the dishes washed, I hopped in the car and drove out to the mall … well, to the marketplace behind the mall, anyway. There, I found out my hunch was correct: My MacBook power cord died, so I just needed a replacement cord. At $87, it still wasn’t a cheap fix, but that was considerably cheaper than the mystery issue I built up in my head before Best Buy opened its doors.

A few minutes before opening

A few minutes before opening

(Why, oh why, does Best Buy not open ’til 10 a.m.? I was awake and ready to shop by 8:30.)

As I drove back across town with my new cord, my phone alerted me to a new tweet. When I checked the tweet in my bank’s parking lot, I saw this message:

I was so pumped to be one of three winners for Nicole’s giveaway. After taking part in Rounds 1-3 of Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp, with varying degrees of commitment, I decided to take a break for Round 4. And as I saw the tweets flying around cyberspace, I regretted my decision.

Friday was the deadline for signing up at $25, and it was also my payday. Had I not won a registration, I probably would have signed up on my own — but it was a bonus to get in for free.

I can’t wait to get started. I think (hope) it’ll dovetail nicely with the rest of Amanda’s Bootie Buster Challenge.

See the glowing amber light in the upper left corner? Glorious!

See the glowing amber light in the upper left corner? Glorious!

That helped make my day. So did the sight of my computer, charging as usual.

The fact that it was payday also contributed to my better mood, as did finally making an appointment with the eye doctor. I can’t remember the last time I got new glasses. I’m pretty sure I’m still wearing the same frames I had in pictures from Winter 2011. And I haven’t gotten replacement lenses, either.

Bad, bad me. I know better. Perhaps I missed the typo because I need glasses.

Then again, maybe I missed it because it was one of those cases where the word started and ended with the proper letter, so my brain filled in what was supposed to be there instead of what was really there.

(Y’all have seen that email, right? Riddled with typos, but you can still read it anyway?)

My appointment is for 12:30 p.m. Monday. I tried to get in Friday, but they didn’t have any openings. So much for same-day service.

The unscheduled trip to Best Buy, along with other errands, meant no walk for me Friday — but that’s nothing unusual. I often don’t work out on payday. I do hit the grocery store, and usually get lunch somewhere.

This week was no exception. I opted for Chick-fil-A.

I had a grilled chicken sandwich, too.

I had a grilled chicken sandwich, too.

Now, I could have gotten a salad for about 7 WW Points. But I wanted fries … so I ordered a grilled chicken sandwich combo, with waffle fries. 17 Points later (I had 10 designated for lunch, so I dipped further into my FPs), the craving was satisfied.

Worth it? The fries were quite tasty, but I’m not sure they were 10 Points worth of tasty — especially when I can enjoy a Wendy’s value-sized fries for 6. If I had it to do over again, I might have ordered a side salad or fruit cup instead. I might even have gone for the big grilled chicken salad …

Live and learn, right? I still have a few FPs for the weekend, so I’m doing OK.

Counterbalancing an indulgent lunch

Counterbalancing an indulgent lunch

Besides, I’m at least conscious of the choices I’ve been making. Knowing that I was going to treat myself to a high-Points lunch, I packed a low-Points snack: Veggies and dip.

And I opted to skip the nuts I usually nosh in the late afternoon/early evening.

I’m toying with the idea of joining in this 7-day sugar detox challenge. It’s sponsored by Laura of Mommy Run Fast, and I found out about it via tweet. Am I the only one who gets some of her best ideas from Twitter these days?

If I do the sugar detox, I’m hoping it will help me clean up my eats a little. I’ve noticed myself drinking more Points (in the form of smoothies and coffee drinks) lately, and know I’d be more satisfied if I’m consuming actual food instead.

But I’m not sure I can do it — even for seven days. I’m way too dependent on Splenda and sugar-free flavored syrups.

I know, I know: That’s precisely why I SHOULD do it. It starts on Monday, so I still have some time to decide.

By the way, I weighed in to close out my DietBet this morning. To no one’s surprise, I didn’t win. Again. I did, however, lose 5.8 pounds. Not bad, but still 3.2 pounds from goal.

2 responses to “Looking up

    • I’m thinking about it. Might be a game-day decision for me. But if I give up sugar for 7 days, what on earth will I do with all the Chobani fruit-flavored yogurts I just bought?

Leave a Reply

