March is National Nutrition Month

Have you heard? March is National Nutrition Month — and since the month is almost over, I thought I’d better weigh in on the subject.

I don’t claim to be an expert on nutrition. If you’re seeking expert advice, look to bloggers like The Lean Green Bean, Nutritionella or Candid RD. Or, you know, visit a registered dietitian IRL.

I do read a lot on the subject, and find myself trying to make sense of all the various approaches. Low-fat? Low carb? Paleo? You know I’ve tried ’em all, with varying degrees of success. I even met with a nutritionist once, for a couple of sessions, between my first stint on Atkins and my first WW attempt. I still have the book she recommended: “The Metabolic Typing Diet.” Maybe I should revisit its quizzes. I wonder if I’d get the same results.

I’m always looking for more advice, so I was intrigued when Tina from Best Body Fitness recently shared a link to a post titled 25 things everyone should know about nutrition.

The post, by Kristen at Following Fit, had a lot of good tips. For me, the jury’s still out on No. 10: “Potatoes are NOT the devil.” For the most part, her advice is common-sense. Not all of it’s stuff I like to hear — or want to admit is right (Nos. 6 and 21, I’m looking at you). But if I were to embrace some of these principles, I’d probably be much better off.

Allow me to add some of the lessons I’ve learned about nutrition:

  • Fat does not make you fat.
  • Veggies are your friend. That includes those vegetables you hated as a kid (like spinach and turnips).
  • No one approach works for everyone. The key is finding what works for you. (I know I say that often, but it’s true.) I’m currently doing Weight Watchers, which I think is making me take a kind of 80/20 approach.
  • Hunger is not an emergency. (Thanks go to Roni Noone for that one.)

Wednesday was a pretty normal day. I got a nice, long walk (2+ miles in 33 minutes) before heading to Starbucks for writing time. Spotted more daffodils along the way.

Daffodils Walk 032713

Still my favorite flower. I think I like them even more than roses … not that I’ve been up close and personal with many roses.

When I got to Starbucks, I did indulge in a Frappuccino (light, but with whip). Before I did, I researched the Points values of the various options — and eventually, after considering a full-fat/full-sugar one, I decided to go ahead with a peppermint-mocha Frappuccino Light but add whipped cream (3 WW PointsPlus).

I figure that by making a conscious decision to treat myself (instead of mindlessly seeking comfort, as I wanted to do yesterday), I was doing AOK.

Plus, I built it into my day’s worth of Points. I only used 2 FPs today. (Have to make up for using a ton of ’em on Monday and Tuesday, don’t you know.)

As an occasional treat, a Frappuccino with whipped cream is fine.

As an occasional treat, a Frappuccino with whipped cream is fine.

I also made up for not getting my greens Tuesday, thanks to a ton of veggies. Among them: Veggie meatballs, butternut squash soup, chicken and cauliflower “rice” in TJ’s Green Curry Simmer sauce and TJ’s reduced guilt spinach/kale/yogurt dip.

 

One response to “March is National Nutrition Month

  1. Everyone’s body is different, which means no one “diet” fits everyone. And, the Frappucino looks good! I like the Java Chip Frappucino from Starbucks.

Leave a Reply

