Good eats & better sweats

Barring a Sunday sweat session upon waking, I still managed to get in just four workouts this week, two of them less than 20 minutes long. The good news is, the other two were at least a little more intense than last week’s. By the end of the Bootie Buster Challenge, I just might have a handle on a new workout habit.

A girl can hope …

I’ll get right to my workouts:

Monday:

Walk 031113

Tuesday:

Walk 031213

I cut it short because I ended up meeting my writer friend at Starbucks. She texted while I was on my walk & asked if I was planning to go — and since I need all the writing time I can get, I jumped at the chance. I wasn’t really feeling the walk anyway. On Monday, every song that came on was great … Tuesday, none of them seemed right. I had to FF through about a dozen.

Wednesday: (no photo) I did the GoFitGals Desk Jockey Stretches video at the end of my shift at work. It actually feels really good at the end of a long day.

Thursday:

Walk 031413

Better. It might not have much longer than Tuesday’s walk, but it felt like a more intense workout.

Maybe I will hit the pavement today. Lord knows I could use the exercise … and the extra points it’ll earn me in the Bootie Buster Challenge.

On to my favorite eats of the week:

PB Oatmeal Cookie Dough Overnight Oats

More Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookie Dough Overnight Oats from PBFingers, topped with half a banana. I love this recipe so much I could eat it every morning and not get tired of it. (This link goes to my pin of the recipe, because I was feeling lazy.)

InNOut Burger

I ordered a salad AT my romance writer’s group meeting Saturday, so I treated myself to an In-N-Out cheeseburger after I finished my grocery shopping that afternoon. Since I ordered it protein-style (wrapped in lettuce, no bun), it had just 9 WW Points. It. Was. Delicious. I think I prefer it to Five Guys. Gasp!

The bad thing about it: I was still hungry when I got home. Not to worry, though. I whipped up a Mexican pizza that used a new-to-me meat substitute with just 1 WW Point per serving. Add to that a low-carb tortilla, some salsa, reduced-fat cheese and veggies, and I had a 5-Point dinner/snack to fill me up.

Mexican Pizza

Mexican Pizza. Sorry the photo’s a little dark. I forgot to take the photo when I was in the well-lit kitchen. This one was snapped from the love seat.

With all my daily Points gone, I capped off the evening with some homemade sorbet.

Mango-Pineapple Sorbet

In the mix: 1 cup frozen mango, 1/2 cup frozen pineapple, 3 T water and 1 T nonfat Greek yogurt. Yum! Just that tiny bit of yogurt added a hint of creaminess that made me super happy — and for 0 Points. Even better.

Since I was close to Prescott for my romance writers’ group meeting, I had the pleasure of doing my grocery shopping somewhere special:

Trader Joe's

Trader Joe’s! I was looking forward to this part of the trip all week — almost as much as the meeting itself. I wish we had one of these in Flagstaff. Because I only get to shop there once every other month, I went a little overboard and had to have everything. Yes. All. The. Things.

TJ's Cookie Butter Trader Joe's HaulMy haul included veggie burgers, two kinds of cookies (vanilla wafers and almond butter cookies), spinach/yogurt dip, pesto-flavored cheese, green lentils to try Julie’s Pizza Lentils, popcorn, wasabi-flavored nut mix, more of that yummy green curry simmer sauce, a bag of tangelos, two bags of shaved brussels sprouts and butternut squash soup.

I also picked up some frozen pineapple and two bags of frozen mango chunks. (Now that I’ve created a delicious mango smoothie recipe, I don’t want to run out of mangos before I can get back to TJ’s.)

And after this cookie butter won raves on many of the blogs I read, I decided I had to see what the fuss is all about. I calculated the Points value before I bought — and while I can’t remember what it was off the top of my head, it was decent. Fewer Points than peanut butter, I know.

Good thing I stocked up, because I’m now broke again until NEXT payday. I wish I got paid once a week instead of every other week.

3 responses to “Good eats & better sweats

  1. I am GREEN with envy that you are by a Trader Joe’s! The closest one is two hours away. All of your food looks AMAZING, btw.

    Great training this week too!

    xoxo,
    Ashley @ The Preppy Runner

    • Thanks! I’m actually not that close — it’s 90 minutes from Flagstaff. That’s why I only get to go once every 2 months, when I’m already in Prescott for the writers’ group.

Leave a Reply

