WIAW: The atypical day

It’s Wednesday, and you know what that means:

wiawgoesgreen

Another WIAW post. I love this weekly linkup hosted by Jenn at Peas & Crayons.

I was on the road much of Tuesday, courtesy of a trip to a sister RWA chapter meeting in the Valley of the Sun — and it made for eats that were … interesting, to say the least. Let’s get started:

Granola Bar

Upon waking, I stayed in bed, surfing the Web, a little longer than I should have. When I finally got moving, I grabbed a quick bite on my way out the door for a sweat session: A No-Bake PB Granola Bar. After a too-short walk — cut short because I had tons to do before hitting the road, I whipped up another Tropical Mango Smoothie.

The St. Patty's Day placemat totally negates the Christmas tumbler, right?

The St. Patty’s Day placemat totally negates the Christmas tumbler, right?

Sadly, I used up the last of the mango chunks I bought on my last Trader Joe’s run. Good thing I’ll be in Prescott on Saturday so I can go again.

Oh, the horror!

Oh, the horror!

With the rest of breakfast (or brunch) in hand, I headed to Starbucks to write. I wasn’t planning to go, but I had work to do, so when my friend asked if I was going, I decided the answer needed to be “yes.”

While there, I downed a skinny caramel macchiato and, later, nibbled on a serving of these:

PBJ Mixed Nuts

Emerald’s PBJ Mixed Nuts aren’t quite as good as the PB Dark Chocolate ones, but they’re close. Definitely worth a try, if you haven’t tried ’em yet. They are, in fact, so good that I mowed my serving down before I remembered to photograph them, so you get a picture of the container instead. I didn’t feel like measuring out another serving just to take a snapshot.

After Starbucks, I ran back home to clean out the passenger seat of my car. Since I volunteered to drive partway to Phoenix, I had to make space for a passenger, don’t you know … I also snacked on 1/2 cup of roasted butternut squash.

Sunday Dinner

Just don't look in the back seat ...

Just don’t look in the back seat …

Again, I was too excited to eat to remember to snap a picture … or maybe I was just too busy running around like a chicken with my head cut off. Either way, the result is no picture of my bowl ‘o squash.

Take my word for it: It looked a lot like what’s on this plate, minus the burger and broccoli.

Here’s where the day’s eats start to get dicey.

I gassed up the Focus and headed to the rendezvous point, in a shopping center parking lot. There’s an Arby’s in the shopping center, so I walked over there to get something for dinner. I resisted the temptation to order a big ol’ roast beef sandwich and curly fries, settling instead for a chopped salad with turkey, which I walked back to my car and dressed with the homemade ranch dressing I brought with me especially for the occasion. (I mixed 1 T Miracle Whip with less than 1/4 tsp ranch dressing mix and enough water to make it a more dressing-like consistency.)

Arby's Chopped Turkey Salad

But it took longer to gas up at the Maverick than I’d intended, and I only got a few bites of the salad in before Anne arrived. Since we had a long drive ahead of us and were meeting another friend farther down the road, I put the lid back on my salad and threw it in the cooler. Shame, that. What I managed to eat tasted really good … probably due in part to the bacon.

Mmm … bacon …

That’s okay, because now I have lunch for Wednesday all figured out. Besides, what I ended up eating was even better … well, better in the taste sense, anyway. As a healthy choice, it left much to be desired. When we got to the restaurant where the meeting was being held, my eyes zeroed in on one menu item: A Reuben sandwich.

I love Reubens, and there was very little doubt in my mind it would be mine. As a concession to smarter eating, I ordered a 0-Point fruit cup alongside the sandwich instead of fries. Good thing, too, because when I checked the Points value for a Reuben (after I got back home for the night), my handy-dandy app served up totals anywhere from 11 to 18 Points. I went ahead and took the highest one — anything that tasted THAT good had to be full of Points. Besides, it’s early in my WW week, so I still have plenty of FPs to cover it.

Sorry there’s no photo of dinner. I was at a new meeting with people I’ve never met and didn’t want to become known as “that weird chick who photographs her food.”

Mint Chocolate Cookies N Cream Shake

Even with the high-Points Reuben, I’d eaten just 40 Points (5 more than my daily allowance) when I got  back home for the night.

But I wanted a little something. Apparently the copious amounts of Diet Dr Pepper I consumed on the drive down and back (You can see the gigantor cup in my salad shot) didn’t quite cut it in the satisfaction department.

I ended up whipping up a WW Chocolate Smoothie Shake, adding in a Mint Cookie Crisp bar and some mint extract. It looked a lot like this one from the weekend.

All told, it was a 44-Point day … not bad, considering the out-of-the-ordinary Reuben. I don’t regret a bite of it. That sandwich was truly tasty — worth every Point. (And there’s always a chance it had fewer Points than I allotted it. Not a huge chance, mind you, but a chance.)

8 responses to “WIAW: The atypical day

  1. Sounds like a good pretty good day of eats considering that you were on the go most of the time! And my mom is obsessed with dehydrated mango pieces. She just made some in our dehydrator this past week actually! 🙂

    • Thanks, everyone. I think I did manage to do pretty well, considering all the temptation I faced.

  2. Hi Arlene, I’m new to your blog, and just checked out your about page, progress pics. Bless your heart girl, I am so impressed with your commitment. It is HARD,,,, very hard. I know.

    Temptation is all around us, and you did good. 🙂 I have never been on a “diet” before, because I have zero will power to say no to good food, lol…. but time has come for me to face the mirror and realize I MUST change things, if I want to be healthy. It’s been tough to say the least. Still not “dieting”, just trying to be very aware of what I’m eating, and it’s amazing how much just taking pictures of every single thing I eat has made a difference.

    My cravings seem to ALMOST vanish when I know I need to take a picture of it, lol. Being accountable is like magic, but only works if you are accountable to yourself first, as I’ve learned. I could always sneak a bite in here and there, but I am only hurting myself. So I’ve been really good at documenting!!

    So glad I stopped by! Have a great day girl 🙂
    P.s. After coming back from an extended blogging break, I’ve started a 40 day challenge to get HEALTHY by my birthday. If you get a chance to check it out, I could sure use the support!
    Hugs, Bella 🙂
    Bella’s 40 Day Challenge

  3. Also just realized you were on the paleo diet too, how did that go for you. COnsidering you aren’t on it anymore, I guess you didn’t like it?

    I have been trying to eat GF the past couple weeks, and have really noticed good things, I feel much better. But i can’t imagine not eating my beloved beans, and legumes, ahhhh…. other than that, I do like a lot of other things I’ve read about paleo, but I just can’t imagine cutting out ALL grains, and Legumes….

    Oh boy, I never realized just how much I have yet to learn about healthy eating.

    Hugs, Bella 🙂
    Bella’s 40 Day Challenge

    • Hi, Bella. Thanks for stopping by. I started exploring the paleo diet while I was doing the low-carb thing. It seemed like the next natural step, since I wasn’t really eating grains/beans anyway — but when I did the Whole30 (for 45 days), it was much too restrictive … and way too hard to sustain. I just don’t have time to be in the kitchen, cooking three meals a day, every day, and it’s practically impossible to eat out while doing the Whole30, because off-limits foods are EVERYWHERE. I tried to do a paleo plan after the Whole30, but only committed half-heartedly (I hated giving up dairy) and therefore saw no results. For me, for now, Weight Watchers is the plan I can stick to — and make progress on — without feeling deprived.

      I briefly peeked at your blog, and plan to go back and look a little more thoroughly tonight after work.

  4. Hey Arlene! Look into Smarter Science of Slim for a weight loss plan that involves lots of food, zero deprivation, and fuels your body without depriving it of nutrition! Just something to look into 🙂 Great day of eats- everything looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

