WIAW No. 2: Monday moan-day edition

Greetings, everyone. Welcome to my second-ever WIAW contribution. Today, I thought it’d be fun to share Monday’s eats. You know Monday, right? Typically it’s the day you get back on track after an indulgent weekend.

My weekend wasn’t too terribly indulgent, although Saturday did include a Five Guys Little Hamburger and a small bag of movie popcorn. A part of me misses the days when I blissfully ate a full-sized Five Guys bacon cheeseburger (wrapped in lettuce because I was counting carbs). But with 13 Points in one of the little suckers, I won’t be chowing on a big one anytime soon.

Ahem. Back to Monday’s eats. And before I forget, I want to thank Jenn at Peas and Crayons for creating the WIAW phenomenon.

Lunch

I was up to my usual tricks, sleeping through my alarm, so it was 11 a.m. by the time I hauled my butt out of bed. That meant lunch was in order, because I normally can’t stand to have breakfast foods at any other time of day. (The occasional egg sandwich is an exception.) On Monday’s menu: half a can of Progresso Italian meatball soup, cold roasted green beans and a Greek Black Bean Burger from Lindsay at The Lean Green Bean. Pretty much all veggies there.

With a full stomach, it was on to Starbucks to write before work. I fueled my quality writing time with this:

Starbucks latte

A venti skinny iced latte with 2 pumps sugar-free hazelnut syrup and 4 pumps sugar-free mocha. If you look closely in the baggie, you’ll see the crumbs left over from the serving of Trader Joe’s Ultimate Vanilla Wafers I enjoyed with my drink. (Forgot to snap a picture before I devoured them.)

No veggies there! Oops …

Once I got to the office, I was ready for an afternoon snack.

Pepper strips, hummus and pretzel crisps.

Red bell pepper strips, an ounce of Pretzel Crisps (mostly broken) and 3 Tablespoons roasted garlic hummus. Shortly thereafter I ate an ounce of Dark Chocolate-Peanut Butter flavored Emerald nuts. (I forgot to take their close-up, too … it was a Monday. My brain wasn’t firing on all cylinders.)

When dinnertime rolled around, I dug into this:

Dinner

Italian turkey meatloaf, roasted butternut squash and green beans. I was slightly skeptical about the meatloaf — so much so that I pulled a packet of ketchup from my drawer “just in case.” I’m happy to report I didn’t need it. The loaf tasted great on its own. It was also packed with veggies: spinach and canned tomatoes.

After dinner came dessert:

Oatmeal Bake for Dessert

That’s the square of Easy Oatmeal Bake I would have had for breakfast if I’d gotten up at a decent hour. It was worth the wait.

Before I left work, I also had the rest of my dessert: A pineapple caramel Chobani Bite that I forgot to photograph. My excuse: Not only was it Monday, but also a hectic, crazy solo night at the office. It was about 10 when I finally got a chance to dig in to the sweet stuff.

There you have it: Another WIAW (with eats from a Monday).

2 responses to “WIAW No. 2: Monday moan-day edition

    • Thanks, Helen! Now that I’m getting used to the new look, I love it, too. It was touch-and-go there at first.

Leave a Reply

