More Good Eats

Since last week’s “Good Eats” post seemed to be well-received, I thought I’d start a new Sunday feature: A roundup of the best things I ate all week.

Without further delay, I’ll jump right in:

Chocolate-Almond Butter Yogurt

On Sunday, a post-Super Bowl snack: Chocolate Peanut Butter Yogurt from GreenLiteBites. I used almond butter and almonds because that’s what I had on hand. It might not look pretty, but it tasted amazing.

Banana Bread Quinoa

Tuesday’s pick: Crock Pot Banana Bread Quinoa. I’ll be honest here. When I made this last week, it was pretty good, but not knock-my-socks-off delicious. That’s why I still have some hanging out in the fridge … But on Tuesday, I added about 1/3 cup of extra coconut almond milk to the bowl. The quinoa soaked in it for several hours, until I heated this up for dessert after dinner.

The extra liquid made all the difference. Now it gets an enthusiastic two-thumbs-up YUM!

Sausage with peppers and onions

The best of Wednesday’s eats: Chicken-Apple Sausage with peppers and onions. So simple, yet so tasty. I need to make this more often. I cooked up a big batch of onions and peppers at lunchtime, then divided it into thirds. One-third was earmarked Wednesday’s dinner while the other two-thirds went into the fridge. I sliced and sauteed a single sausage (5 Points) and combined it with the veggies for a delicious, filling meal.

Actually, a salad would have made it even more filling. I’ll make a note of that for next time.

Cocoa Overnight Oats

Friday’s breakfast was inspired by the GoFitGals cocoa-coconut hot chocolate, which I linked to here. Okay, perhaps not so much “inspired by” as “The cocoa powder’s on the counter. Wonder what’d happen if I stirred some into overnight oats.”

I’m pleased to report the result was delicious. I mixed about a teaspoon of cocoa powder into my almond milk and oats. Then in the morning, I added a tablespoon of almond butter and a banana. Mmm. Even without any added sugar, it was plenty sweet enough.

Omelet & an apple

Saturday’s brunch, eaten before I headed to Harkins for a day of moviegoing, was also delicious. I made an omelet with 1 egg and egg whites, onions, bell peppers and string cheese, then topped it with red salsa and avocado verde salsa. (Mixing the two makes the green salsa less spicy, which is good for my Midwestern taste buds.) I sliced up a honeycrisp apple, too. Just 6 WW PointsPlus for the whole plateful.

3 responses to “More Good Eats

Leave a Reply

