Super Bowl Sunday food prep

Prepping for food prepWere you ready for some football?

I have to admit, I watched the Super Bowl mainly for the commercials. Wonder how many other people do that … or will admit to it.

Sad to say, I’ve never had much interest in football. In high school, I only went to the football games because I was in the marching band. The halftime show was the best part. The Boyfriend took time to explain the rules a couple of years ago, when the Cardinals were Super Bowl-bound, and I like it a little bit more now — but the commercials were still the big draw for me.

After making out a menu plan for the week, I ran to Safeway to pick up a few things. Okay, more than a few. I got a whole cartful, including a few things that weren’t on my list. (Chobani Bites in three flavors, for example. I love that those little cups of flavored Greek yogurt only have 2 WW Points.)

I got home from the store at about 4:15 — just in time for kickoff. Yeah, I timed it that way. I’d have been home even sooner had I not made a pit stop on the way home.

I listened to the game from the kitchen, running to the TV whenever the ads started. I think my favorite commercials of the bunch were the Doritos ads with the goat and the guys playing tea party. The Rock’s ad for milk was great, too, and the Budweiser ad featuring the Clydesdales was fantastic (love those beautiful animals). The Jeep commercial paying tribute to our soldiers choked me up.

And I was super stoked when I realized there’s going to be a new “Star Trek” movie. Am I the only one who didn’t already know it was coming?

The ads that didn’t work for me? Go Daddy’s nerd/pretty girl kiss and the pistachio ad featuring that awful song. Although the dancing nuts were entertaining, I hate that song. Yuck.

Enough about the ads. I’m sure you want to know what was cookin’ in the AWL kitchen.

Finished eats

From left:

Asian Black Bean Burgers from The Lean Green Bean

Roasted butternut squash (1 squash, cubed and tossed with 1 T olive oil and salt)

Cauliflower rice (1 head cauliflower, shredded, sprinkled with salt and pepper and boiled in water. I’d have used broth, but didn’t have any)

GoFitGals Peanut Butter and Honey Cookies

Frozen Yogurt Trail Mix Bars, also from The Lean Green Bean. I’ve had my eye on these for a while now. Can’t wait to see how they taste.

Of course, I also made dinner. I kicked off my kitchen time by popping a healthy pizza into the oven.

A healthier way to eat pizza during the Super Bowl.

A healthier way to eat pizza during the Super Bowl.

In the mix: 1 multigrain tortilla, spread with 1 T tomato paste, 1/4 oz mini pepperoni, bell pepper strips and 1/4 cup 2% milk mozzarella. (Trust me — there really are pepperoni under that cheese.)

Halftime eats

Halftime eats

I also whipped up a batch of butternut squash fries, which I ate while watching Beyonce’s halftime show.

Yum! I’ve always loved butternut squash and am so glad Roni came up with that recipe. I make it fairly regularly.

The cookies were the last thing I made. With my cookies in the oven, I plopped down on the couch with dessert: A lemon-filled donut from Dunkin’ Donuts. (That’s where I made my pit stop on the way home from the store.)

Fourth quarter dessert

Fourth quarter dessert

Heart-shaped donuts for February. How fun!

(Yes, I had to get the game in the photo to prove I was watching.)

I have to admit, I was disappointed that the 49ers lost — mainly because I was rooting for Jim Harbaugh, a former Chicago Bear. Anyone else remember the Super Bowl Shuffle?

And I just googled it and realized I was thinking Jim Harbaugh when it was actually Jim McMahon in the video, wearing incredibly cool black shades. Harbaugh was about 2 years too late to be part of the Chicago Bears Shufflin’ Crew.

My little brother had the song on VHS. I seem to recall we watched it on an endless loop. I only had eyes for the cute QB.

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses to “Super Bowl Sunday food prep

  1. I got home in time to witness the last 10 minutes of the blackout. (I was at the medieval faire. Singing. I do that.) I’m gonna need to look up some of these commercials.

    I thought the GoDaddy one was awful – for implying a sexy girl can’t be smart. That really annoyed me. I was okay with the pistachios, since my kids have made me immune go gangdan style. or whatever it is.

Leave a Reply

