Late breakfast, lunch and dinner

Someone tweeted a link to a somewhat upsetting article Tuesday. The story summarized a study that found people who eat a late lunch lose less weight.

It wasn’t conclusive, and the late-eaters did still lose 17 pounds (vs. 22 for the early-lunch crowd). Seventeen pounds is nothing to sneeze at. Still, it gave me something to think about.

Unfortunately, it’s hard to eat an early lunch when I often don’t get up until close to 10 a.m. When you have breakfast at 10 or 10:30, lunch naturally happens at 2 or 3 p.m.

Such was the case for me Tuesday (as it is most days).

Overnight OatsKnowing I was facing a stint with the snow shovel for cardio, I delayed getting out of bed as long as I could. I enjoyed a breakfast of overnight oats topped with half a banana at about 11 a.m., then headed outside.

As usual, thinking about shoveling was worse than doing it. I should remember that for next time, eh?

When I got back inside, I packed snacks and dinner. No lunch, because I planned to stop at McDonald’s before work.

With a full lunch sack, I headed to Starbucks for a little work before work. A Skinny Caramel Macchiato fueled me through some emailing, brainstorming about a new RomCom author group blog and novella editing.

Upon leaving Starbucks at 3:30 p.m., I headed for McDonald’s. The new grilled onion cheddar $1 burger is actually pretty tasty — even if 8 WW points IS a tad steep for a rather small burger.

I’d also spend 8 Points on a Trader Joe’s turkey burger on a Sandwich thin — 9 with cheese, so I don’t think that’s out of the question.

Ideally, I’d have gotten a side salad with my burger, but I wanted French fries … so I got a small order of fries (for 6 Points, I think. For some reason, I can’t access my tracker app. I’m downloading an iOS software update to see if that’ll help.)

Am I the only one who hates updating my phone’s software? It seems to take forever, and it drives me crazy knowing I can’t use my phone until it’s done. I always wonder, “What if it doesn’t re-start?”

Since I ate lunch at almost 4 p.m., dinner didn’t happen until close to 8. And I had a dessert/snack after 9, then snacked on an apple and string cheese after work.

My phone is STILL updating. Aargh! Dancing on the edge of sanity here …

On the plus side, I got my pass to Anytime Fitness. Of course, I printed it out and left it on my desk at work.

And the update didn’t make a darn bit of difference. The WW app is still telling me I need an internet connection to access my tracker … when I’m clearly connected to the Internet. Grrrr. Technology.

6 responses to “Late breakfast, lunch and dinner

  1. Don’t beat yourself up over your late lunch. Did the folks in the study have your schedule? I thought not. It’s all relative.

    and I want to be party of a RomCom blog! I’m funny, I promise!!! 🙂

  2. I think the point of that study was that people who had a longer time between breakfast and lunch lost less weight. If you get up around 10am, 3pm may be an early lunch time for you.

Leave a Reply

