Third time’s a charm?

Let’s hope that is, indeed, the case, because I’m going to set my alarm for 9:30 for the third time this week.

Maybe I’ll actually haul my butt out of bed for a workout when it goes off?

I don’t know what the problem is: Even with the Skinny Jeans Challenge’s extra incentive to work out for 30 minutes a day every day this week, I haven’t been able to overcome the urge to snuggle deeper into the covers and hit “snooze.”

Guess my body needs sleep more than it needs exercise?

R-i-i-ight. I know that’s not really the case — but it’d sure be nice if it were true.

My aim is to get up early enough to make another egg/onion/salsa omelet for breakfast and work out. I might even throw a load of laundry in the washer. Oh, the thrills never end …

I had no daily Points left when I got home from work Wednesday night, but was hungry enough to dip into my Flex Points for a piece of WW-brand string cheese (1). I ate it with a mug of herbal tea (Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride flavor) and it seemed to do the trick.

Today’s eats taught me a valuable lesson: Taco Bell isn’t a good choice for lunch. One Fresco-style chicken burrito is 9 Points, but it didn’t hold me over for long.

Come to think of it, today was a Mexican day. Dinner was a frozen Smart Ones chicken enchiladas meal, which comes with a side of rice. Lots of carbs=not so filling. Probably why I wanted to snack on cheese and not fruit.

2 of these, plus a lot of other water, and I still missed the mark. Grrr.

2 of these, plus a lot of other water, and I still missed the mark. Grrr.

Speaking of the Skinny Jeans Challenge, the GoFitGals issued an extra challenge Wednesday: To drink half our body weight in ounces of water.

Now, seeing as I still weigh upwards of 230 pounds (236.2 as of Wednesday morning’s impromptu WI), that’s a whole lotta H2O. If I count my after-work tea, I may have just about made it.

My intake included two 22-oz. Starbucks glasses full (44), two 16.9-oz bottles of Bashas’ brand water (34), a SodaStream bottle full of chocolate-flavored water (16), a few swallows from another Bashas’ water (6), and the tea (10).

Crap (a milder epithet than the one that first came to mind, I assure you). I knocked myself out with the H2O consumption and it still only adds up to 110 — about 10 ounces short. But I can’t drink one more sip without floating away, so I’m just going to have to fall short of the mark.

Oh well. I still drank quite a bit more than I usually do, and it’s something I know I should do more frequently. More water means more trips to the bathroom, and that puts extra steps on my pedometer. Of course, seeing as how I slept ’til after 11, I still barely broke 2K.

Something else I need to work on, for sure. I did sneak in a set of counter pushups while waiting for my frozen dinner to cook, so that’s something at least.

Delicious!

Delicious!

By the way, mixing those toasted coconut almonds with chocolate chips was an inspired idea. Can you say “yum”?

They are a bit pricey in the Points department, though. An ounce of almonds plus 9 grams of Enjoy Life semisweet chips came out to 6 Points (5 for the almonds, 1 for the chips).

That’s why I had no Points left for an after-work snack, eh? I suppose I could do half an ounce of almonds instead. That’d take the total down to 3 Points.

Something to think about, for sure. I bet it’d be just as satisfying, and leave me more Points for something else.

Perhaps I’ll test that theory today … once I finally make it out of bed.

Fingers crossed that my iPhone alarm wakes me up the first time!

4 responses to “Third time’s a charm?

  1. That’s why I don’t like eating fast food. It usually never fills me up for long and most of it is high in sodium. That’s why I usually make/pack my own lunch. Btw, the almonds with choco chips…I want some!

    • For today, I chopped up some of the almonds and mixed them with chocolate chips to stir into vanilla Greek yogurt.

Leave a Reply

