Off work early … now to get to bed

Yeah, I’m still miserable. No big surprise, since I talked to the Boyfriend today and he informed me the doctor told him he has Type A influenza.

I don’t think that’s what’s wrong with me. I can’t I have the flu if I got a flu shot this fall. That’s not possible, right?

Whatever I have, I’m definitely not at my chipper best. I spent all of Monday night shivering under multiple layers of covers, including a comforter, afghan, duvet in a flannel cover and another flannel cover (minus duvet) that I added to my usual mix. (And I didn’t make one trip to the bathroom at work, when I normally make two or three — and clear 2 – 3 blog posts out of my Google Reader each time. Boy … I hope the boss isn’t reading that confession!)

 

Definitely the dinner of sick champions ...

Definitely the dinner of sick champions …

The good news was I didn’t eat much at all Tuesday. When I got home from work, I had to have a big ol’ bowl of chicken noodle soup (that’s an an entire can, my friends, for only 4 WW Points), plus an Alternative Bagel (3) and Laughing Cow cinnamon cream cheese (1) plus a Weight Watchers Brownie (4) to hit my Points target for the day.

And that was after having a Dunkin’ Donuts jelly-filled donut (8) and iced coffee (1) for breakfast — at 1 p.m. (I stopped at DD after hitting Walgreens for tissues, DayQuil and NyQuil.) Can you tell how much food I felt like consuming? My only other eats were a grocery store brown rice California roll (10) and hummus/pretzel chips (2).

More good news: My rest might have been fitful, but when I did finally drop off, I slept until after 11 a.m. Of course, that did absolutely nothing for my pedometer total, which came in at just 2,821 steps for the day.

The best news of all: Our new time card system allows for partial sick days, so I’m finally going to use up some of my built-up sick time at the office. I took off an hour and a half early tonight, at 9:30 p.m., and might just work a half-day tomorrow, if I wake up feeling as bad Wednesday as I did today.

Fresh from the dryer. It felt great when I put it on.

Fresh from the dryer. It felt great when I put it on.

When I got home, I fixed the aforementioned dinner and popped my battered Eddie Bauer sweatshirt into the dryer to warm it up. (It spent my work shift in the freezing car.)

Next up on my agenda? A stiff dose of NyQuil, then bed. Maybe another night under five layers of covers will knock this sucker out.

And if not, at least I have sick time coming.

Sorry I didn’t have the energy for a workout today. I know, one workout in an entire week SUCKS. But I barely had enough energy to make it to the office and function normally. No way would I have been able to walk very far, even at a snail’s pace.

There’s always tomorrow (or maybe Thursday). After all, I have the rest of my life to be healthy.

2 responses to “Off work early … now to get to bed

Leave a Reply

