Weight Watchers, Take 2: Days 2/3

Day 3 of my new lifestyle and I’m still going strong. The simple act of tracking my eats (and allowing myself a set number of Points a day) is enough to keep me on track.

Well, that and the promise of some cash if I manage to lose 10 pounds this month, thanks to Roni’s New Year’s DietBet.

I’d have checked in Thursday, except I had a killer headache Wednesday night and couldn’t concentrate to write a post. Luckily, with a good night’s sleep, I woke up as good as new.

Since I missed my Elf4Health check-in, too, today’s post is going to be a bit of a brain dump.

β€” Wednesday’s Elf4Health task was to set a new fitness goal. I’ve been racking my brain, and even now, more than 24 hours later, I’m at a bit of a loss. I’d like to restart C25K, but that’s not a new goal. I’d like to run a mile in less than 14 minutes … but I have to start to walk again before I can run. I’m seriously falling short of my goal to get 100 miles logged December through February.

Maybe I should make my goal weights/core-related. Some people talk about doing 5- or 10-minute planks … I’d just like to hold one for 1:30. My core needs serious strengthening.

β€” I have been doing a little experimenting with my eats in the parameters of Weight Watchers.

  • On Wednesday, I stuck to slightly less carb-y choices: An egg/veggie scramble with half an Alternative Bagel and cinnamon Laughing Cow cream cheese for breakfast; Chicken & Dumpling soup with a chicken/veggie sandwich for lunch; roasted chicken legs, brussels sprouts and butternut squash for dinner. My snacks were pecans, veggies, hummus, Apple-cinnamon-flavored Greek yogurt, a Starbucks Skinny Peppermint Mocha and a quesadilla (corn tortilla, cheese and salsa).
  • On Thursday, I ate more carbs: Overnight Oats with unsweetened almond milk, almond butter, a banana and blackberries for breakfast; Progresso potato/bacon/cheese soup, half a bagel and a side salad with balsamic/olive oil for lunch (I was going to pack a chicken leg, but forgot); and a SmartOnes Tuna Noodle Gratin with roasted brussels sprouts and a clementine for dinner. Snacks included a Skinny Cinnamon Dolce from Starbucks, veggies/hummus/pretzel thins, Pineapple-flavored Greek yogurt and a single-serve bag of SmartPop kettle corn.

Sounds like an awful lot of food on both days, right? That’s what I thought. It is a lot of food. And yet, on carb-y Thursday, I was decidedly hungrier.

Good to know. About the time I get the tweaking just right, I’ll probably lose Points & have to figure it out all over again!

But I’m determined to succeed. 2013 is my year. I’m going to get a handle on my eats and drop the weight, for good.

Trying new recipes will be a big part of that success, I know. I need variety in my food; I can’t stand to eat the same foods day in and day out.

Good thing there are plenty of places to find healthy recipes, eh?

Giving Roni's recipe a go.

Giving Roni’s recipe a go.

The roasted chicken legs I made Wednesday were from Roni’s GreenLiteBites. I took a picture of them in the oven, and posted it on Instagram with the note that I was trying the recipe for the first time.

She’s right: They do take quite a long time to cook. I put mine in the oven around 11 a.m. and boosted the temperature to 225 degrees F in hopes of still making it to Starbucks for writing time by 1 p.m. (I was about 15 minutes late.)

But the end result is incredibly tasty. My only complaint is that each leg has 3 PointsPlus … I only allowed myself two of them, but probably could have devoured two more. They’re that delicious!

I take that back β€” I have two whines. Using the rack to allow the fat to drain is ingenious, but it makes cleanup kind of rough. The spice mixture stuck to the rack and didn’t want to come off.

Roasted chicken, brussels sprouts and butternut squash

Roasted chicken, brussels sprouts and butternut squash

Dinner is served. Pay no mind to the leg under the desk. Yes, I’m wearing pajama pants to the office. It’s one of the perks of working the late shift with just a handful of other people.

Umm … I may or may not have just made that up because all my jeans that actually fit me are in the hamper. I think that means it’s time to do laundry, don’t you? πŸ˜‰ Or maybe I’ll just return the size 14 jeans I bought on Black Friday and buy another pair of 16s.

Yeah, I hate doing laundry that much.

One of the things I like about Weight Watchers is the availability of convenience foods. Yeah, I know I shouldn’t rely on them often, but it sure is nice to be able to grab something from the freezer or pantry when I’m too busy to cook.

It’s important to have options that make it easier to stay on track. Eventually, I’ll come around to eating more whole foods. This is, after all, a process.

A tale of two breakfasts:

Someone would love to share my breakfast.

Someone would love to share my breakfast.

I enjoyed this big bowl of oats, fruit and nut butter.

I enjoyed this big bowl of oats, fruit and nut butter.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

