Best of 2012

There’s still a few hours for me to add my voice to the chorus of “best of 2012” lists. To make things simpler, I picked just one favorite post from most months (with a couple of bonus entries thrown in when I couldn’t narrow it down):

January

Instead of making the usual resolutions to lose weight and move more, I declared my intention to make 2012 my “best year yet.” I also set a few more specific goals:

  • Try at least two new recipes a week. I might cook my way through one of the George Stella cookbooks or keep hitting up the recipe database at Atkins.com. However I come up with the new recipies, I’m tired of being in a food rut.
  • Rejoin the gym so I can take Zumba and yoga classes again. As long as I can find the money, this one’s going to happen.
  • Continue to polish my manuscripts and get them into the hands of agents/editors. I can’t count on finaling in the Golden Heart again, but even without that boost, I can keep my name and ideas out there. All it takes is finding the one person who likes my writing.
  • Grow my blog/online presences (both here and on my writing blog, Love & Laughter).

The first two didn’t happen. I did my darnedest to get No. 3 done — but still no publishing contract for me. The rejections are getting more specific, though. It’s only a matter of time before I find that perfect fit.

As for the last one, I’ve done a pretty good job with this blog in 2012 … but the writing blog has languished.

Bonus: I got to attend a live WWE Monday Night Raw in Phoenix.

February

I was feeling down one day, so I compiled a list of ways to banish the blahs. I still lift my mood by wearing brighter colors, and thanks to a prompt from Elf4Health, I finally started a gratitude journal.

March

I signed up for Round 1 of Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp — and discovered an affinity for exercise. I’ve lost and re-found my exercise mojo several times this year, and it’s currently in hiding again. While I’m not planning to join in the fun for Round 4 of bootcamp, I kind of wish I was.

April

As part of WEGO Health’s Health Activist Writer’s Month Challenge, I compiled the ultimate list of dinner party guests. On my list: Roni of Roni’s Weigh, Richard Simmons, Dr. Atkins, Oprah and Tina Reale of Best Body Fitness.

May

Hitting the fancy Scottsdale Fashion Square Mall gave me a new store to love: Lucy. I need to go back there, just as soon as I lose a few more pounds.

Bonus: They finally opened a Trader Joe’s in Prescott. Never mind that I still rarely get there. At least I know I COULD go if I wanted to.

June

I treated myself to the midnight showing of “Magic Mike.” I had a blast, and was surprised at how crowded the theater was.

July

I had not one but two weeks off from work. Among the things I did: Attended the RWA National writer’s conference and (separately) met one of my favorite writers, Susan Elizabeth Phillips.

August

I attempted my first (and probably last) Whole30. While I loved the way I felt while doing Whole30, I didn’t love how long it kept me in the kitchen. I really can’t imagine eating that way for the rest of my life, no matter how much I wish I could … I did, however, love making my own almond milk.

September

I ran a mile without stopping. Don’t ask my why I stopped. Had I kept that up, I might be running full 5Ks by now. Grrrr…

October

I drove down Oak Creek Canyon to get my fix of fall leaves. Living in Flagstaff, the predominate leaf color is yellow (aspen). But there’s a beautiful maple grove on the way to Sedona. I couldn’t stop snapping photos.

Bonus: I set up a Facebook page for my blog. Its audience is growing … slowly, but it’s growing.

November

I finished my first organized race, a 5k Turkey Trot in Sedona — and I met my goal of not finishing dead last.

Bonus: Dunkin’ Donuts opened in Flagstaff. This is both good and bad, since I now have one more temptation to avoid …

December

I asked myself if it was time to stop classifying foods as “good” and “bad” and, with some help from my elf, Helen, resolved that doing something is better than doing nothing. I stayed on track for a few days, but fell back into old, bad habits — and will start 2013 at 248.8 pounds.

Blergh. Starting over again, yet again. But that’s a different post altogether. I hope you enjoyed my jaunt down memory lane, sharing my “best of” 2012.

 

Leave a Reply

