Practicing gratefulness

Before I get to Thursday’s Elf4Health challenge, I’m pleased to report I did the things I said I would.

I took a 15-minute walk (outside, through the snow) and did some snow shoveling. I tracked my eats (and, until I bought a bag of Chex Mix from the vending machine, was doing a great job of eating low-carb). I ended up at 61 Net Carbs for the day. My water consumption might not have hit 64 ounces, but I drank a lot more than I have been getting (and consequently made more trips to the bathroom).

I feel better already!

My Gratitude JournalSomething else that makes me feel better? The simple act of jotting down a few things I’m grateful for. The Elf4Health newsletter included a link to a Gratitude Journal iPhone app. I downloaded it on Monday and have been noting at least one entry a day since.

The notations are nothing earth-shattering — getting through the left turn arrow on the first try made Wednesday’s list, and “24 Hours of ‘A Christmas Story'” was the only thing I entered on Tuesday. (Have I mentioned it’s my all-time favorite holiday movie?)

But noting even the little things gets me to realize how many good things happen to me — even on the days it seems like nothing is going right.

A gratitude journal is something I’ve been thinking of starting for a while now. Thanks, Lindsay and Elle, for providing the impetus to follow through.

Enough rambling: On to my list of 20 things I’m grateful (in no particular order — I’m going free-form here).

Thankful

  1. The Boyfriend.
  2. Friends and family.
  3. My two adorable kitties, Destiny and Spirit.

    Spirit

    Spirit

  4. My dog, Cocoa.
  5. Coworkers who make me laugh.
  6. Starbucks (you knew that had to make the list!), with baristas who greet me by name.
  7. My blog(s).
  8. The blogs I read, which provide information and inspiration
  9. Friends I’ve met through blogging, tweeting, pinning and Instagramming
  10. Dr. Atkins. I’ve tried all kinds of diets, and low-carb is the one that’s always worked best for me.
  11. Elf4Health, for giving me something healthy to focus on during the holidays, and my elves, who have all been fantastic matches.
  12. My credit union. So much better than a bank.
  13. Books (real, paper books and the e-books on my Nook and Kindle app)
  14. The Crock Pot, which allows me to make delicious meals without a lot of work, and my new SodaStream. (I made “pina colada” soda Thursday. Yum!)
  15. Satellite TV (even if I do complain we have hundreds of channels and there’s still nothing on)
  16. Writing. Someday, I hope to share my novels with all of you.
  17. The scenery in my adopted hometown. Seriously. I love having the San Francisco Peaks in my back yard.
  18. My brain, for its creativity and ability to tell stories.
  19. Yoga. I need more yoga in my life. I love how relaxed I feel after a yoga class.

    School Supplies

    Post-it Notes excite me …

  20. Pens with ink in a variety of colors, notebooks and calendars/planners. There’s something exciting about a blank page, full of potential waiting to be realized. What can I say? I’m the freak who still loves back-to-school shopping even though I have no kids to send to school.

Surprisingly, I could go on. Round about No. 12, I was getting desperate … but then the list started growing almost effortlessly. I had to go back and combine a few of them to keep it to 20!

When I think of all the things I have to be grateful for, it’s an embarrassment of riches, to be sure.

Leave a Reply

