Mini-muffins aren’t for me

What do I have against mini-muffins? It’s not the ridiculously small size, which is almost the perfect portion for an indulgence. (Remember Weight Watchers’ three-bite rule?)

No, it’s the fact that I cannot successfully bake anything that involves a mini-muffin tin.

Not convinced? Read on for proof.

A couple of weeks ago, I attempted to whip up a batch of these Peanut Butter Cup Sugar Cookies from Jenni’s Ferris Wheel of Food. (This was before my return to Atkins, mind you.)

They seemed simple enough: Just a tube of sugar cookie dough and some mini PB cups. (I had a bag of Reese’s Bells in the freezer I wanted to make disappear.) Roll the dough into balls, place in a mini muffin tin and bake. Then, when they come out of the oven, press a PB cup into the middle of each one.

Easy-peasy.

Uh … not so much. My cookies molded to the pan, becoming thin and crispy, and I couldn’t get most of the darn things out of the muffin tin. (Sorry, no pictures.)

I suspect I tried to divide the dough into too many balls. I got a tin of 12 plus about six in a second tin. Had I just made bigger balls to fill the slots in only one tin, I’d have likely had better results.

Then, last Saturday, I decided to make the Chocolate Peppermint Mini Cupcakes from Danielle at Clean Food, Creative Fitness. I knew I had all the ingredients on hand, and because I needed to take something to a potluck holiday party, I figured “why not?”

It took no time at all to mix the batter and bake the cupcakes — a plus because I didn’t have a whole lot of time to spare before my meeting.

When I left the house (in the middle of a snowstorm), the tins were still warm from the oven. I admit to cheating on the frosting: I just stopped at the grocery store. My hope was to pick up some of that new Cool Whip frosting I’ve read about … but Bashas’ didn’t have any that I could find, so I just grabbed a tub of sugar-free Cool Whip instead.

The mini-cupcakes looked beautiful in the tin. Getting them out, however, proved to be nearly impossible.

Mini Peppermint CupcakesThey split, leaving behind about half the cupcake. Every. Single. Time.

Before you ask, yes, I greased the pan — quite liberally, I might add. I thought I’d learned something from the previous week’s peanut butter cup sugar cookie disaster.

Oh well. At least they tasted fantastic. There aren’t many combos better than chocolate and mint. Add a dollop of whipped cream and I’m in heaven.

Chocolate Peppermint Mini Cupcakes Nutrition InfoEven better? When I ran their stats through the Spark People Recipe Calculator, I made a happy discovery:

Check that out. One cupcake has just 4.8 Net Carbs! One also has 40 calories, 1.8 grams of fat and 1.4 grams of protein. Not too shabby.

Ah, if only it was easy to stop at just one …

Seriously. If they’d come out of the oven whole, I’d know where one ended and the next began.

Next time I attempt to make anything in the mini-muffin tin, I’ll be using paper liners.

Pumpkin spice mini muffins, also from Danielle at Clean Food, Creative Fitness, are a good candidate.

Wonder if they’ll give the Pumpkin Munchkins from Dunkin’ Donuts a run for their money?

3 responses to “Mini-muffins aren’t for me

Leave a Reply

