Back on track?

Today, I actually feel like  a queen ... or at least a princess.

Today, I actually feel like a queen … or at least a princess.

I’ve said it before, but I have to say it again: What a difference a day makes!

This mug I spotted at Walmart the other day fit my mood much better on Wednesday — all because I tracked my eats and took a walk.

So simple, really. Why don’t I do that every day?

Laziness, I suppose … along with a false sense of being “too busy” to take the time. Really? Since when are you “too busy” to make time to take care of yourself?

Like I said yesterday, I’m not really doing Atkins until I run out of the groceries I bought last week. However, I did track my carbs today. I really think that simple act kept me from buying a pastry at Starbucks or a Butterfinger from the vending machine at work … in other words, from going overboard.

I used the brand-spankin’ new Atkins app on my phone to count carbs. The total came in at 84.2 … which I’m sure is a lot lower than it has been for weeks. The biggest culprit that added to my carb count was the So Delicious Coconut Milk Nog I drank in my iced coffee at Starbucks. (I take the nog from home and mix it with the drink from the Bux.)

I’ve been mixing 1 cup with a grande iced coffee … except a serving of the nog is only 1/2 cup — and that 1/2 cup has 14 Net Carbs. That means my little coffee drink added 28 NC to my day’s total. I refuse to toss the rest of the nog, though. Maybe I’ll try mixing 1/2 cup into a tall iced coffee and see what happens.

Living on the wild side, eh?

Veggie-packed breakfastWednesday’s Elf4Health challenge was to get at least three servings of veggies before 2 p.m. I didn’t quite make it, since I tend to eat just one meal before 2. I did, however, pack that one meal, an omelet, with onion, bell pepper and zucchini (along with turkey and cheddar cheese). I ate it with a side of roasted butternut squash.

Before 4 p.m., I’d added a side salad and Baconator (no bun) to my day’s eats. A snack of carrots with hummus happened by 5, and dinner was a lower-carb answer to spaghetti: broccoli topped with ground beef, more sauteed onion/pepper and tomato sauce. After dinner, I had an apple with almond butter (also a big drag on my carb count).

121212 Food Journal Collage

Funny thing was, I wasn’t hungry. Unusual, considering I’ve been going through my days just waiting for a chance to eat. Not this time. With all the veggies I ate, I was completely and utterly satisfied.

Lesson re-learned. Again. Eating junk doesn’t satisfy like eating real food.

The left one is shorter than the right.

The left one is shorter than the right.

Wednesday’s walk took a hair more than 20 minutes and covered 1.42 miles. History repeated itself when I realized I hit the pavement wearing two different socks.

But I wasn’t going to let that stop me. I kept right on moving — until that stupid shorter left sock disappeared into my shoe. I stopped to pull it back up, but when it worked its way back down again, I said “screw it” and let it stay. Needless to say, I won’t be wearing that sock for walking again.

Let’s see … we’re expecting snow in Flagstaff tonight. Not sure what I’ll do for exercise if it’s too bad to walk. The treadmill is holding boxes from Christmas decorations at the moment …

Leave a Reply

