Easy Bake for boys? (and other random thoughts)

IMG_1088My thoughts are all over the place tonight. I can’t quiet what MizFit calls the “monkey mind.”

So here’s a quick  peek at what’s going on in there.

Did you hear about the teen girl who petitioned Hasbro to market the Easy Bake Oven for boys?

It’s reported that she wanted to buy one for her 4-year-old brother for Christmas, but was put off by the girly colors (pink and purple) and packaging (no boys on the box).

My first question: When did they start making the Easy Bake Oven pink and purple? When I wanted one —back in the dark ages — they were harvest gold, avocado green and whatever that red-orange color was called. (Bet you’d never guess that was in the ’70s, eh?)

I never got an Easy Bake, though. My parents thought it was silly, I think. I guess I didn’t really need one when mom let me bake in the real oven. I was baking chocolate chip cookies, and/or helping mom in the kitchen, from a very early age.

I’m all for boys playing with toys traditionally thought of as “for girls.” And I applaud that eighth-grader for writing a letter and starting a petition. With go-getters like that, the world may still end up in good hands.

That reminds me of the quote from “The Breakfast Club,” where the principal and janitor are talking about the future:

Richard Vernon: You think about this: when you get old, these kids – when *I* get old – they’re going to be running the country. … Now this is the thought that wakes me up in the middle of the night. That when I get older, these kids are going to take care of me.
Carl: I wouldn’t count on it.

Yikes. When did get old enough to identify with the douchebag adults in “The Breakfast Club”? I don’t think that’s a switch I’m ready to flip.

Ahem. That’s not the only thing I remember from that movie. It’s chock-full of memorable quotes. “Demented and sad, but social …” “Does Barry Manilow know you raid his wardrobe?” “slip her the hot beef injection …” Someone compiled a list of Judd Nelson’s 12 best lines here. I’m surprised the “hot beef injection” didn’t make the cut — it’s always been one of my personal faves.

With no workout Friday, my fitness tree is looking a bit lopsided to date. (All three stickers are on the right-hand side of the tree.) There’s always today.

I need to outline a plan for my weekend, as per Elf4Health. A workout or two and some healthy eats will be on the agenda … and no visits to Dunkin’ Donuts.

I know I need to cut out the crap carbs … and as much as I hate the idea now, I’ll be fine with it after the first day or two.

Me makeup-freeAt least I rocked Friday’s “no makeup” challenge. Here I am at PetsMart, before dropping a wad of cash on Cocoa’s special allergy-free dog food.

I really like this shorter haircut. I’m so glad I took a chance on it … except it looks like I’m in need of another trim. Short hair seems to lose its shape fast.

I’m still no Reese Witherspoon, but I don’t look half bad.

Leave a Reply

