One foot in front of the other

Wednesday was one of those “one step forward, two steps back” kind of days.

I managed to work out despite sleeping in ’til after 11 a.m., but then I felt rushed in and resorted to frozen items when making my lunch. So that was one #Elf4Health victory (trying a new workout) but a #lessprocessed fail.

Not sure it worked … butt looks the same to me.

For my workout, I fired up the Nike Training Club (NTC) app I downloaded for my phone a while back. It offers “Get Lean,” “Get Toned,” “Get Strong” and “Get Focused” options. I chose the “Get Focused: Better Butt” workout. A lot of different lunges were involved. Ouch!

Despite the “ouch” factor, I really liked the app’s workout. It was easy to follow, with video and still explanations of the moves. And it only took 15 minutes, which is a big plus. Quick+relatively easy=I’ll do it more often.

I can do anything for 15 minutes, right? Ideally, I’d string together two of them — say one targeting the abs and one for the butt … or one legs, one arms. The combinations are practically endless.

After working out, lunch was the frozen Lean Cuisine I bought for Meatless Monday but forgot to take with me to the Boyfriend’s. It was butternut squash ravioli, supplemented with two Gardein scallopini patties. Surprisingly delicious, and I loved all the brightly colored veggies.

Then it was off to Starbucks, where I treated myself to a lower-carb Peppermint Mocha Frappuccino and a peppermint brownie cake pop.

A mixed bag of a day, for sure. I just need to keep putting one foot in front of the other. Eventually the good choices will outweigh the bad.

Now, to keep from burning the candle at both ends … and probably oversleeping again tomorrow, I’m going to hit the hay.

Leave a Reply

