It shouldn’t be all-or-nothing

First, let me get this off my chest: I was glad to hear Twinkies may not be going the way of the dodo. Now I can happily go back to not obsessing over them.

Now, on to the meat of today’s post.

Ever think to yourself, “If it’s not perfect, it’s not worth it”?

I can’t be the only one who struggles with the idea that I’m wasting my time if I don’t make the best choices all day long. If I’m not eating only the healthiest foods and working out for 30 minutes or more, I might as well not even bother.

Yes, I know that all-or-nothing thinking is a form of self-sabotage β€” and I’d really like to stop it.

After all, it flies in the face of my blog’s tagline: “getting to goal one choice at a time.”

When I started blogging, I apparently realized that the little things make a difference … that you don’t have to be perfect … that it’s all about progress, not perfection.

But somewhere along the line, I’ve lost sight of that truth.

More and more often, I find myself either having a perfect “good” day or a terrible “bad” one. And those bad ones are REALLY bad, trust me.

That’s why I haven’t been able to make any progress with the scale lately. It’s also why I can’t seem to stick to my eating plan. I take a single bite of one of the foods forbidden on the paleo plan and I’m off.

I’m not quite sure what to do about that, especially because I really love dairy products. Cream and cheese especially have been tough to avoid. I’m toying with the idea of having dedicated paleo days interspersed with low-carb days, so I get my dairy fix a couple of days a week (probably the weekend days, because I find it easier to eat low-carb on the go than paleo.)

In the meantime, I made myself a visual reminder.

I read something like that somewhere β€” maybe in a Weight Watchers article β€” and it really rang true.

Would I throw the whole dozen on the floor just because I broke one egg? Of course not! So why is it okay to throw out a whole day? Why lose an entire day to terrible food choices?

It’s time to stop thinking of healthy living as all-or-nothing. Time to make one healthy decision, then another … without letting the inevitable less-healthy choice derail me.

Do you battle the all-or-nothing beast? How have you slain the sucker?

2 responses to “It shouldn’t be all-or-nothing

  1. First let me say that the hostess/twinkie problems did not phase me at all…but if Pringles or doritos goes away then I will have a problem. oh believe me, you ain’t the only one with the “all or nothing” way of thinking πŸ™‚

    • So you’re a salty snack fan, eh? I’m more of an equal opportunity snacker.

      It’s good to know I’m not alone, though.

Leave a Reply

