Not a total loss

Earlier today, I was pretty down on myself for my weekend indiscretions. And yes, they were pretty bad.

However, it wasn’t a complete wash. I did do at least one thing right: I registered for a 5K Turkey Trot in Sedona on Thanksgiving morning.

I’d been toying with the idea for a few weeks … but after reading Roni’s Fun Fall Challenge, I went ahead and took the plunge. I’d hoped to talk the Boyfriend into doing it with me, but he’s leaving town for Thanksgiving.

That’s not going to stop me from going and having fun.

I’m not deluding myself into thinking I’ll be able to run the entire distance. I can’t run much more than a mile without stopping. BUT this will be my first race ever, and I’ll use the time as a baseline that I can try to beat next time.

I’d like to hope I won’t come in last, but I’m not going to make that an official goal, because I could very well be last.

Oh well. If I am, I’ll get over it — because at least I got out there.

What is it they say? “The journey of a thousand miles starts with a single step.”

Hot air balloon over the Verde Valley this morning.

A post shared by Arlene Hittle (@arlenehittle) on

I’ve always wanted to ride in a hot air balloon. Perhaps my next adventure, after “wogging” a 5K?

Leave a Reply

