Want to know the secrets of naturally thin people?

Heck yeah, I do. So when I saw an article from SparkPeople titled “5 Secrets of Naturally Thin People” in my email, I clicked through right away.

The big secret? As I’ve concluded before, there are no secrets.

The article’s advice, in a nutshell:

  1. Weigh in regularly
  2. Pump up the protein
  3. Strive for five (fruit & veg servings)
  4. Learn to love exercise
  5. Eat out less often

Nothing new there, is there?

Tried. True. Yet so hard to accept and apply day in/day out.

*Big sigh*

Wednesday was a pretty routine day: Errands in the morning, writing at Starbucks from about noon to 2 p.m., then work until 11:30.

Day 2 of my new paleo lifestyle down, the rest of my life to go. I had to take Cocoa to the vet Wednesday morning, but I made it a point to get up early enough to make breakfast before we left. Okay, actually I ate it while driving across town to the vet’s office … that still counts, right?

I made sweet potato hash topped with two eggs, and a chai tea/unsweetened almond milk latte. Lunch was a lettuce-wrapped burger from Five Guys with a side of sweet potato wedges. (Yes, I realize the day was heavy on the sweet potatoes. Tomorrow won’t be.) Dinner was more “spaghetti” — except I threw in some green beans and sliced olives. (Guess that makes it Spaghetti Deluxe.)

Snacks were almonds and walnuts after lunch, a sliced pear after dinner, then a Honeycrisp apple with almond butter after work.

In case you were wondering, Cocoa got a clean bill of health (finally)!

On another note, the first round of workouts for Best Body Bootcamp arrived in my email last night. As soon as I wrap up this post, I’m going to settle in to take my first look.

Whatever Tina has in store, it’s got to be better for me than weight-loss “secrets” that are anything but.

I can’t wait to get started!

Leave a Reply

