One day back on track

… And I’m feeling fine. Better than fine, actually. I forgot how much better I feel when I’m not eating crap.

The day started a bit later than I’d have liked. When my alarm went off at 9:30, I turned it into a dream that someone’s iPhone wouldn’t stop ringing — but it wasn’t mine. I don’t know how long it went off before my subconscious worked out that it was the alarm.

By the time I got dressed and out the door for my walk/jog, it was after 10. But I went anyway … and I again jogged for the duration. Twenty minutes — and check out that pace: Under 15 minutes/mile. I’m extremely proud of that.

When I got back to the house, I stuck a couple of spaghetti squash in the oven prepped a pan of green beans for roasting. I think roasted brussels sprouts taste better, but the green beans are okay.

While the green beans and squash were doin’ their thing in the oven, I made myself some brunch. (Breakfast food, but eaten around lunchtime. If that’s not a classic brunch situation, I don’t know what is. Funny, that: When I was in elementary/middle school, I hated it when the school cafeteria served breakfast for lunch. Now, I eat eggs at all hours of the day.)

Am I allowed to ask again: Who am I?

Breakfast was 3 eggs, scrambled with onion and bell pepper, along with half of a sweet potato turned into hash. (I used the recipe from Robb Wolf’s “The Paleo Solution.” Because the recipe called for a sweet potato cut into chunks, I tried chopping it in the food processor. Think I’ll stick to the shredding blade next time.)

With breakfast in my belly, my shower complete and the rest of the day’s eats packed, I headed to Starbucks for some writing time before work. Sticking to my plan of getting back on track, I ordered … wait for it … unsweetened iced green tea.

Guess what? The world didn’t stop spinning just because I didn’t order a Frappuccino.

Would a Frappuccino have tasted better? Undoubtedly. But I don’t need the calories/fat/dairy. I’m trading what I want at the moment (junk) for what I want most (my goal weight).

My lunch was a take on what Wolf suggested as a snack: chicken, avocado and an apple. I had grilled pork cutlets (3 oz. instead of 2), half an avocado and a Honeycrisp apple.

It was surprisingly filling — and it reminded me once again how I much better I feel when I’m eating good, real food.

I think one of the reasons I’ve been having a problem for the last week or so is I’ve been skimping on my veggies. No more.

Dinner was some ground beef and green beans topped with tomato sauce and garlic. There’s no picture because I remembered I needed to take one right after I polished off the last bite.

I did, however, remember to snap my homemade Lara bar. I made them using this recipe from ZenBelly. I ate two – one between lunch/dinner and one a few hours after dinner.

When I got home for the night, I had a handful of pecans and walnuts.

Day One down and I’m feeling good. Now, I just have to get up and do it again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

