A Whole30 wrap-up … or just the beginning

My Whole30 ended over the weekend, with a bit of a whimper: Barbecue sauce on ribs at Rhythm and Ribs on Saturday night. Delicious? Yes — but not satisfying. I could have eaten twice that much with no problem.

That transgression was followed on Sunday by a Pumpkin Spice Frappuccino (the real thing, not a low-carb version) gotten with a free drink coupon I’d been holding onto for weeks, and a Salted Caramel Mocha Frappuccino on Monday (also purchased with a hoarded coupon).

My planning left something to be desired, and even though I took food with me to the Boyfriend’s, I had trouble being around at mealtimes to eat it. Consequently, by the time Tuesday rolled around, I was hungry — so when he told me “just eat a burger,” I did. Bun and all. I got a Big Carl and sweet potato fries from Carl’s Jr. while we were out running around.

Tuesday was a fail all the way around, because my dinner came from Sonic: A steak flat-melt sandwich and mini caramel shake.

Yes, I went a little crazy eating/drinking the things I’d been denying myself for (more than) 30 days. It took no time at all for the sugar cravings to return.

Guess what? Most of the things I ate didn’t taste as good as I remembered them/expected them to. (The milkshake was an exception, as was the low-carb Frappuccino I had after lunch Wednesday.) The Pumpkin Spice Frappuccino was particularly disappointing. The Salted Caramel Mocha one tasted much bettter.

And I’ve definitely noticed some rumbling/disruptions in my gut since I’ve been eating “off the reservation.” (Mercifully, I’ll spare you the details.)

You know what that means: I’m going to start another Whole30 ASAP. If I decide not to go that extreme, I will follow a paleo diet. Why mess with what works? I don’t miss dairy, or grains, or even Splenda, so why bother reintroducing them?

In the meantime, I don’t expect a loss from today’s WI. Like I said, I went a little nuts for a few days, and I didn’t get much in the way of exercise.

I need to plan my weekends/days off better, especially if I expect to hit 209 by Oct. 16.

2 responses to “A Whole30 wrap-up … or just the beginning

Leave a Reply

