Good news, better news

I have good news and bad news. Which do you want first?

The good news? Of course. Let’s start on a high note.

The dreaded scale told me I’m down 2.2 pounds this week, to 214.8. I only need to lose 7 more pounds in the next month or so to qualify for that health insurance discount I wrote about earlier today.

I was worried I wouldn’t be able to wear the Sparkly Soul headbands I just got, but even with my new ‘do, I can get my sparkle on.

Another bit of good news: I bounced out of bed this morning and into my workout clothes so I could hit the pavement for a walk/run. And I found out, much to my relief, the Sparkly Soul headband still works with my shorter hair.

The workout wasn’t all sweetness and light, though. I walked for the first five minutes, then started to jog. Four and a half minutes into the “run,” I tripped — over a crack in the sidewalk or my own two feet, I’m not sure which — and fell … hard.

Have I ever mentioned I’m a complete klutz? Obviously. Who else but a clumsy girl would fall over her own feet?

Bad news, indeed. I skinned my elbow and hit my head. You should have seen my not-so-graceful diagonal fall into someone’s yard. Elbow first, and somehow I twisted and smacked the back of my head on the ground. I still have a knot to show for it.

To add insult to injury, I fell onto rocks. Why, oh why, can’t people in Arizona have nice, soft grass in their yards, instead of crappy, craggy rocks?

Anyway, I sat there for a moment, stunned. Then I took a couple of swigs of water and scoped out the damage.

I could have cut the workout short. I’d have been completely justified to do it — but this was only my second workout of the week, and I didn’t want to. Instead, I got back up and started moving again. I guess that qualifies as more good news … maybe even better than this week’s loss.

Granted, when I started moving again, I did it at a much slower pace. I didn’t break into a run again for a good 10 minutes.

I headed to my favorite neighborhood and made a loop before heading back across the highway. In the end, I logged 2.67 miles in 44 minutes.

Not too shabby, considering my rocky start. (Pun intended. Insert chuckle here.)

4 responses to “Good news, better news

  1. Hi, Arlene! You’re not the only klutz, believe me. Tuesday evening I fell headlong into the giant pile of branches I was bundling up for the trash. Then this morning I fell over a pile of cardboard. In the office. After looking at it and thinking, “Don’t trip on that cardboard.” My left shoulder and elbow are annoyed with the rest of me.

    • Thanks, guys. It’s nice to know I’m not alone in my klutziness.

      Kay, I hope you’re okay. Falling into a fire sounds dangerous.

Leave a Reply

