Winner, winner, chicken dinner

It was a lazy Sunday at home. I managed to get outside for a walk/jog not long after waking up. I’ve learned I have to do it first thing, or else I get “busy” with other things and it never gets done.

This time, with ominous clouds lurking in the sky, I stayed closer to home. I ended up out there for 32 minutes, 11 of which were spent jogging. (One three-minute stretch, a couple of 2-minute ones and the rest single minutes, with 1- to 2-minute rests between runs.)

Turns out, I got back to the house just in time. It not only rained, but also hailed. Glad I didn’t get caught out in that!

After my workout, I headed to the kitchen. First on my agenda: Breakfast. I made one of Tina’s famous two-ingredient pancakes. Since it is September, and September means autumn flavors, I also attempted to make a pumpkin version of the two-ingredient pancake.

Ahem. Pumpkin, egg and a sprinkling of pumpkin pie spice does not a pancake make. I waited forever before attempting to flip it, and it still fell apart on me. Thankfully, it tasted just fine. I ate both pancakes with a smear of almond butter.

After breakfast, I moved on to a batch of Paleo Morning Glory Muffins, also from Carrots N Cake. When I saw that recipe in my Google Reader the other day, I knew I had to try it out. It seemed like a good way to use up some of the almond meal leftover from this week’s homemade almond milk.

Since I’m still doing the Whole30, I omitted the honey from Tina’s recipe. Even so, those muffins are pretty tasty. I snuck one into the movie theater, along with 1/4 cup of macadamia nuts, to snack on while I watched “Hit and Run.” It was pretty funny, actually. (Sadly, “Campaign” was only showing at night, and I didn’t want to see it badly enough to pay whatever ridiculous night prices are these days. It’s no “Magic Mike.”)

After the movie, I put in a couple of hours at Starbucks, editing my MS. 8K cut, 5K to go. 😛

Then it was time to head home and rustle up some dinner. Still on a “let’s use up those ground almonds” kick and with the chicken breasts I bought Saturday waiting in the fridge, I decided to make fried chicken … Southwestern Almond-Crusted Pan-Fried Chicken, to be exact.

That’s where the title of this post comes in. It was definitely a winner: Flavorful and delicious. I served it with a side of cauliflower “rice,” some sliced avocado and a spoonful pico de gallo.

Sound good? Ready to give it a try? Here’s the recipe:

  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 chicken breasts, pounded to even thickness
  • 1 egg, beaten with 1 Tablespoon water
  • 3/4 cup almond meal
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder

Heat olive oil in skillet. Mix almond meal and spices. Dip chicken breasts into egg first, then almonds. Cook, covered, 8 – 10 minutes, then flip and cook, uncovered, until chicken is cooked through, another 8-10 minutes.

Simple, but yummy. After a day of kind of carby foods (pancakes, the muffin), it really hit the spot. Better yet, I have a whole breast left over. I see it becoming dinner at work one night this week, maybe with sweet potato wedges.

Leave a Reply

