My father would be so proud

When I was growing up, my dad was the ultimate tree-hugging, granola-eating health nut. He insisted Earth brand shoes were better for your feet than traditionally made shoes (something about the shape of the sole not putting your foot into an unnatural position). He took vitamin supplements like they were going out of style.

He grew veggies in our garden. He made homemade granola and fermented his own wine. He even kept a compost pile outside our back door for food scraps.

Now that I’m doing the Whole30, I find myself doing things my father would wholly approve … things like making my own mayonnaise and, now, almond milk.

The other day, a tweet from Shape Magazine linked to a video on making homemade almond milk. I checked it out. When it looked as easy as the tweet claimed, I pinned it to come back to later. Originally, I’d intended to wait until payday (today) — but I already had almost everything I needed. All that was missing were the dates. Since I had enough cash to buy a couple of dates, I got my almond milk on a day early.

I started soaking the almonds when I got home from work Wednesday night. Thursday morning, after I came back from my 2.36-mile walk, I put all four ingredients in the blender.

Less than 5 minutes later, after straining the blender’s contents through a cheesecloth, I had creamy, delicious almond milk.

Who knew it was so easy? Certainly not me — I’ve been buying cartons of almond milk for a while now.

But those cartons contain ingredients that aren’t Whole30-compliant, so I thought I’d try making it myself. And you know what? That is some seriously delicious almond milk. Fresh, slightly sweet, creamy.

I can see why people go all natural. You know exactly what’s in it when you make it yourself: only four ingredients, all of them pronounceable.

Now, if only I knew what to do with all those leftover ground almonds. It didn’t seem right to throw them away, so I put them in a bowl and stuck ’em in the fridge.  “Breading” for fish/chicken, perhaps?

Leave a Reply

