Recipe: Fun and Flavorful Southwestern Frittata

I’m over plain, boring fried eggs, but I’m becoming quite enamored with eggs — especially when they’re incorporated into dishes.

The dish they most lend themselves to is the frittata. Sure, I could call it an omelet … but I consider omelets to include cheese. Since this is cheese-free, a frittata it is.

Last week, inspired by the master recipe in “It Starts with Food,” I whipped up my second frittata: A Southwestern Frittata.

In the mix:

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 3/4 cup onion, diced
  • 3/4 cup zucchini, diced
  • 3/4 cup bell pepper, diced
  • 1/2 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 pound leftover cooked ground beef
  • 9 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. In the meantime, saute veggies in oil. (I cooked the peppers and onions a while before adding the zucchini … and saved the tomatoes ’til the very end.) While veggies cook, beat eggs and spices.

Add meat to skillet and heat through, then add eggs. Cook 1 to 2 minutes, stirring a few times so the eggs chunk up. Then cook for an additional minute or two to set up the bottom. Finally, put the entire skillet into the oven and bake 12 to 15 minutes, until the eggs are lightly browned and have puffed up.

Allow frittata to cool 5 minutes before cutting. And don’t forget the skillet handle will still be hot.

Makes 4 good-sized servings. (I cut each quarter in half, serving myself two “slices” at once.)

It was delicious. I bet it’d taste even better with half an avocado served alongside it. I was out of avocados the day I made it.

If I were eating dairy, I’d be tempted to garnish it with some sour cream.

One response to “Recipe: Fun and Flavorful Southwestern Frittata

  1. Pingback: Recipe Wednesday: Healthy Travel Snacks! | Healthy Living Blogs·

Leave a Reply

