Ditching the scale has never looked so good

After last night’s “I feel great and look better” post, you’d think I’d have seen a big drop in the scale today, wouldn’t you?

I only wish. I did lose — 0.4.

Not much, is it?

And here’s where I concede the Hartwigs are right to say “no weighing for 30 days.” Even though I lost this past week, I don’t feel like I lost enough … and that made for a long, hard day of making the right choices.

Don’t worry: I wasn’t all that tempted to chuck all my hard work for one bad scale reading. No way do I want to have to re-start the Whole30 again. However, I can honestly say tossing the scale has never looked so good.

I started my day with a 25-minute, 1.5-mile walk/jog on the treadmill. After a 6-minute warmup at about 2.5 mph, I bumped up the speed. I alternated 2 minutes of jogging and 1 minute of walking, and ended up jogging for 10 minutes total.

I varied the incline between 0.5 percent and 3 percent, covering 90 vertical feet.

After my workout, I made brunch: A Southwestern frittata inspired by the master recipe in “It Starts with Food.” (I’m planning to share the recipe in a separate post.)

Then it was writing time. I went to Starbucks and ordered my new usual, an unsweetened iced green tea.

Other eats for the day:

  • A plum (with my frittata for breakfast)
  • Egg salad with 3 hard-boiled eggs, homemade olive oil mayo and a squirt of brown mustard. I ate it with snap peas and cucumber spears. (lunch)
  • The last of the Creamy Avocado-Spinach Chicken Pasta, plus two hamburger patties with mustard and pickles at our office “end of summer” bash (dinner)
  • A sliced banana with cashew butter and coconut (after dinner)
  • A handful of Brazil nuts (after work)

You can see I still don’t quite have the hang of the “only 3 meals” thing, but I’m working on it. At least the afternoon at work is no longer one big snackfest. (Used to be, I’d eat a little something every hour or so. Now, I’m eating Meal 2 about when I get to the office, then having dinner between 8 and 9.)

Day 8 down, 22 more to go.

Leave a Reply

