Not-so-terrible two

Even though I have no kids of my own, I’ve always heard the terrible twos are something to dread. When I visited my brother and his family in February, my nephew, Alex, was 2. He was extremely well-behaved most of the time, but I did get to witness one fit of “terrible two” proportions.

On this Thursday, I have a not-so-terrible two to share: Two rather odd things that happened to me while I was at work Wednesday.

  • While I was munching on a Larabar (coconut cream) at work, I found myself thinking it was almost TOO sweet.
  • I was eating dinner kind of slowly because I was eating and working at the same time, and I noticed I was full before all my food was gone. And I stopped eating. (Granted, I only had a couple of carrot sticks and maybe 2 Tablespoons of cashew hummus left, but still ….) I also didn’t want a snack when I got home from work.

Amazing! Could this be the life-changing kind of stuff the Hartwigs are talking about in “It Starts with Food”?

Dare I say I hope it is? It’d be nice to change my attitude toward food, once and for all. I’d like to be able to stop eating when I’m full, rather than when my plate is clean … to not NEED sweets more than air … to genuinely satisfy my sweet tooth with a piece of fruit.

Speaking of food, I’m still digging that Creamy Avocado-Spinach Chicken Pasta. Third serving and it’s still as good as the first. And this time, I ate it at home, for lunch, so I got a better picture of its green glory.

Gorgeous, isn’t it? Even three days old, this recipe’s a keeper. Thanks, PaleOMG!

What else can I tell you? It was a great day all around (with the exception of choosing to skip my workout this morning, of course). I was in a good mood, I got some editing done before work (cut another 1K from my story. 4K to go before I can submit.)

I couldn’t stop looking at myself in the mirror, either. Sounds vain, right? Maybe it is — but I feel thinner. The mirror seems to bear witness to that same thing: My stomach’s flatter, my arms are less flabby, my chin has more contour.

Why wouldn’t I want to keep eating in the manner that makes me feel this way?

 

Leave a Reply

